Momma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Yummy! Added garlic, ground pepper, worcestershire sauce & an onion to the turkey. I used apple cider vinegar instead and added BBQ sauces. Quick, easy & delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
A bit too sweet. I recommend reducing the amount of sugar since ketchup already has sugar in it. I agree with the other poster who said these taste like hotdogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
These were sooo good! I took some of the other suggestions and browned the turkey with some onion and red bell pepper. I also browned it in 3 tablespoons of butter. I also switched up the sauce and only used 1/2 cup of ketchup and replaced the 1/2 cup with BBQ sauce and a couple of dashes of Worcester sauce. I also substituted the white sugar for brown sugar. These turned out AMAZING! They have been added to my weekday menu meal plan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
We just finished eating and my husband said, "this is the best thing I have ever eaten!" He is picky so this is a big compliment. I used hamburger, sugar, brown sugar, ketchup, honey mustard, vinegar, & onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Pretty good, be carefull to get good ground turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Great recipe! Very simple and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
These were ok, made them for a quick dinner one night. I am not sure if i'll have them again, but were alright in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe -- and very easy to make. Recently, we felt like barbecue but didn't have time to grill out. The result was a twist on Momma's Slopy Joes we called, "Smokey Joes". By the time we finished our "modifications", though the only thing our version and the original have in common is the turkey. We used spicey brown mustard instead of yellow, added onions and bellpeppers and a teaspoon of liquid smoke. Our version also included a quarter cup of chili sauce. Either version would be great with beef as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Family Mentors

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
These are good and easy. A little strong on the yellow mustard flavor, but hubby liked it a lot! I like that they're made with turkey. It's still very meaty, but not greasy like ground beef would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States