Momma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Great recipe! Very simple and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
These were ok, made them for a quick dinner one night. I am not sure if i'll have them again, but were alright in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe -- and very easy to make. Recently, we felt like barbecue but didn't have time to grill out. The result was a twist on Momma's Slopy Joes we called, "Smokey Joes". By the time we finished our "modifications", though the only thing our version and the original have in common is the turkey. We used spicey brown mustard instead of yellow, added onions and bellpeppers and a teaspoon of liquid smoke. Our version also included a quarter cup of chili sauce. Either version would be great with beef as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Family Mentors

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
These are good and easy. A little strong on the yellow mustard flavor, but hubby liked it a lot! I like that they're made with turkey. It's still very meaty, but not greasy like ground beef would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe! I just made it in less than 45 minutes and my 22 year old brother devoured it in a matter of seconds. I substituted rice wine vinegar for white vinegar because we didn't have it. Next time I'll probably try throwing in some veggies.. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I loved it!!! I changed the recipe a little bit. I added more ketchup and mustard than the recipe called for. I added minced garlic too. No sugar needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Well, one of my 3 kids ate it, one sampled it here and there, and one had to be forced through tears to take the mandatory three bites. Hubby and I liked it OK. We served it with homemade bread, baked tater tots, and some celery to make the plate not completely beige/bland. I used apple cider vinegar, and just slightly less sugar than called for; and we didn't have any yellow mustard (I know, what?!?), so we used deli brown. I found this to be overwhelmingly vinegary. I will try it again, with less vinegar, and will get some yellow mustard. All that said, I was pleased to actually "cook" - no microwave, no cans - for me, a decent dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Would have liked a little more sauce, more of a sweet and sour mix but everyone enjoyed and kids did not notice the ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
FANTASTIC!!!! Best sloppy joes recipe yet! Love using the turkey for fat and calorie savings. My kids loved them and I have a daughter that is terribly picky! I also used apple cider vinegar, onion powder and garlic powder and omitted the sugar. There was plenty of tange and sweetness in the Heinz ketchup that sugar was not needed. This will be a regular supper at my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.

Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States