Momma's Shrimp and Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This was delicious. I added more garlic and was scant on the cayenne since I'm not crazy about hot stuff. I used quick grits which require less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Wow. What a fabulous take on shrimp and grits. This is like you get in finer restaurants. The second time I prepared, I added 1/2 of a diced yellow pepper to the initial saute and a 1/2 a cup of diced ham when the shrimp went in. Used mild cheddar shredded instead of the processed cheese. The recipe is great as posted but will be fun to play around with. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Overall, an OK dish. I really wish there was just a little more flavor. I kept thinking it needed some more sauce or something to take it up notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlfakes
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
My shrimp and cheese grits came out as if I'd been making them for years!! So delicious! I'm using this method to cook shrimp for salads now, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zaria Qadafi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrimsonKK
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Loved it! NOLAMom, my husband has requested this dish on a regular basis! He loves omlets for brunch, but he loves this more! I didn't have green onions on hand, so I subbed with vidalia onions and chives. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie Tippy
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I had this at s party catered my a chef from Texas. It was fabulous yet I couldn't find any recipes that seemed right. I only made one change - I used cheddar cheese because I think it has a much better flavor. It turned out great and the family loved it. Next time I'll add some crumbled bacon to make it more like the recipe I had before. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie Tippy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This was really good. I did cook my grits in milk, it makes a huge difference on the flavor and richness of the meal. I will add an extra green onion next time, just personal preference. The only thing I added was some old bay seasoning. This is a keeper for sure. Be great with some nice crusty bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This is the first time I eat shrimp and grits and I don't think I'll try it ever again. The recipe is not bad, but the meal is not for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States