Momma's Mmm-Mmm-Magnificent Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Made this tonite. Went by recipe exactly,except for the mushrooms. My wife doesn't eat mushrooms. To solve that issue for the rest of us I mixed everything together and placed in my Pyrex. One half of the loaf I placed on top mushrooms from a small jar of ready cooked. The other half I left alone. I cut bacon in half slices and laid across per instructions. Baked as instructed in my toaster oven/pre-heat well. One hour later it was cooked to 160 degrees and let me tell you, it was a hit! Oh I broiled it for two minutes just to give the bacon a richer look. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I sautéed the onion and mushrooms before adding it to the meat mixture. I should have put it under the broiler at the end to crisp the bacon, but I ran out of time. I don’t care for meatloaf, but my husband said it was very tasty and gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I'm not a huge meat loaf fan but combine this with Chef John's mushroom gravy and we are talking about a new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Hallenbeck

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this with some wild pig sausage a friend gave me and with some venison that I got this year. Everything else was the same except I didn't have any barbecue sauce so I used ketchup. It was very good and we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Delicious even with Bacon omitted. This is a "keeper" recipe as voted by my family. Looking forward to meatloaf sandwiches tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
exellent recipe.I loved the sausage we ate it cold as well as hot with gravey and branston pickle..yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
My boys liked it very much, but I didn't care for it much (though I'm not a fan of meatloaf in general). We mixed the bacon into the meat instead of leaving it on top. I like addition of sausage though, and will use that concept for other beef-y recipes (like meatballs!). Where I live, the ground case-less sausage is only sold under the Maple Leaf brand for $5-6; the recipe uses pretty much the whole package (just a FYI for my fellow MTL cooks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Love the addition of BBQ sauce instead of ketchup and instant oatmeal instead of bread crumbs in this recipe. I used ground sirloin and vension breakfast sausage as that is what I had on hand as well as used no salt canned mushroom pieces as I didn't have any fresh. And I served the bacon and cheese on the side as a garnish; I'm sure it would have been even more wonderful baked in. Thank you 3BoysMomma for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My husband loved this meatloaf! I don't like meatloaf but this one was pretty darn good. Made it as directed except I used canned mushrooms (didn't have fresh) and I chopped some pre-cooked bacon and mixed it in. Next time, I would saute the onions first because they were still a bit crunchy and I didn't like that. Thanks for a great meatloaf recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Bacon makes everything better. I used Turkey instead of ground beef and crushed crackers instead of oatmeal. My daughter loved it ,she said " I ate the bacon off the top and whenI got to the bottom it still tasted like bacon, ummmm"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States