Momma's Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
These potatoes were very good. I didn't see the point of the lemon except to maybe keep the potatoes from browning, but then if they are in water they won't brown anyway. I did use the egg white but again did not see the point. I think that the difference in these potatoes for me was using the half and half. I think that this made the potatoes more creamy. Thanks for posting your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
My wife prepared these mashed potatoes and they were good. They were a little dry with only a 1/2 cup of half-and-half, but nonetheless, I thought that this was a good all-around hearty batch of mashed tators. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Great recipe! My first time to make mashed potatoes and they turned out awesome! I used more half and half than called for but I think I had more potatoes. Awesome mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
My mashed potatoes weren't what they could be until I tried the lemon juice. I've always got a lot of half and half left over from other dishes with nothing to do with it, so this was PERFECT. I added a little garlic salt. Normally, I put in the dry ranch and/or italian seasoning, but this made me draw back when I reached for the cabinet. Will ALWAYS do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Wow, these are REALLY fluffy. Turned out nicely. Thanx for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
If I had not of put the lemon an egg white in myself, I would not have known that it was in the potatoes. I didn't think it made any difference at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Like some other reviewers, I was a little concerned about using uncooked egg white, but I did it anyway, making sure I added it quickly while potatoes were very, very hot during the beginning of the mashing process. These potatoes were absolutely wonderful. They had a great flavor and were light and fluffy. No more making them the way I used to. This recipe is to be used from now on - at least on regular mashed potatoes. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I wasn't a fan. Sour and potato don't really belong in the same sentence. Sorry, thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
These are incredibly yummy, by far the best basic mashed potato recipe I've found so far. Be careful not to get overzealous with the lemon juice - if you put too much in, it definitely overpowers and ruins the dish. But it does add a nice touch, so I advise that you not omit it completely. Otherwise, it's open to variation...i've done it with or without the half and half, with roasted garlic, green onions, etc. All quite yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
the lemon juisce gives it the right hit of flavor and my hubby loves it. It's flavorful and uplifting not weighed down by butter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAFIRO80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States