Momma's Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
To all who keep tomato sauce recipes and add sugar. If you add a good healthy pinch of baking soda, you won't need the sugar which I think comes through in the taste. Hope this helps. Dormy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Almost exactly like mine, with a few exceptions. I add 1 tsp basil and 1 tsp oregano in addition to thyme. I also use a little (about 1/4 - 1/2 c) red wine (it does darken the color, but adds tons to the flavor!). Lastly, I saute the onions & fresh garlic, and then add fresh mushrooms. Saute all until tender and add to the sauce. Let simmer for a few hours and YUUUM!! You can also add 1-2 lbs ground beef, or a mixture of ground beef and italian sausage (very yummy) for a meat sauce! Glad she took the time to write this down tho, bc I never do and sometimes I forget what proportions when I try to share the recipe :). Thanks Phyllis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
Very nice sauce! Added a little sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. Great with the manicotti recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Finally...a delicious and easy marinara sauce! I only had 45 min. to make the sauce and it still tasted great to me and my family. I can't wait to try it when it has had a few hours to simmer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Dora you are supose to add the wine to the sauce not drink it.It's 1 (6oz. can) paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I thought this recipe was missing something. However, I gave it a 5 stars because it was good and my family thought it was excellent. I like how simple it is and the diced tomatoes make it some what chunky. For my taste buds though I am going to add oregano, basil and a pinch of baking soda and whatever else I can think of, in otherwords, I am just going work with it. This recipe has potential, I think maybe it was a little bitter. But again a good base or starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
I think there must be a typo here in 18 cans of tomato paste...i don't think so. Maybe 1/8 of can of tomato paste is what you meant to say! I haven't tried this recipe yet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
yummy!! a great way to pep up store bought jar sauce, my husband and I loved it. I made it as the recipe states, and added some of the "fast and friendly turkey meatballs" that I had made previously from this site. Next time I may try it w/o the meatballs and add a few extra spices. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Your Momma's Marinara is the first stop on the path to victory! Very good stuff. First try vanilla was awesome, but second try I added a little celery during the slow cooking process and put in some black beans towards the end for a little protien, tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is fantastic! We loved the rich taste, and I loved that it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States