Momma's Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
I think there must be a typo here in 18 cans of tomato paste...i don't think so. Maybe 1/8 of can of tomato paste is what you meant to say! I haven't tried this recipe yet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
To all who keep tomato sauce recipes and add sugar. If you add a good healthy pinch of baking soda, you won't need the sugar which I think comes through in the taste. Hope this helps. Dormy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I thought this recipe was missing something. However, I gave it a 5 stars because it was good and my family thought it was excellent. I like how simple it is and the diced tomatoes make it some what chunky. For my taste buds though I am going to add oregano, basil and a pinch of baking soda and whatever else I can think of, in otherwords, I am just going work with it. This recipe has potential, I think maybe it was a little bitter. But again a good base or starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
Very nice sauce! Added a little sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. Great with the manicotti recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Excellent tasting sauce. I sauteed the onion in olive oil first and then added 1/2 cup white wine. The sauce came out delicious. Don't forget a screen cover for the pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Great tasting sauce. I am now using this as the base for all my Italian dishes. I usually double the batch and freeze a portion for another use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This sauce was delicious. Will make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is fantastic! We loved the rich taste, and I loved that it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Finally...a delicious and easy marinara sauce! I only had 45 min. to make the sauce and it still tasted great to me and my family. I can't wait to try it when it has had a few hours to simmer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Your Momma's Marinara is the first stop on the path to victory! Very good stuff. First try vanilla was awesome, but second try I added a little celery during the slow cooking process and put in some black beans towards the end for a little protien, tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States