Momma's Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
I think there must be a typo here in 18 cans of tomato paste...i don't think so. Maybe 1/8 of can of tomato paste is what you meant to say! I haven't tried this recipe yet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
Very nice sauce! Added a little sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. Great with the manicotti recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Great tasting sauce. I am now using this as the base for all my Italian dishes. I usually double the batch and freeze a portion for another use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
To all who keep tomato sauce recipes and add sugar. If you add a good healthy pinch of baking soda, you won't need the sugar which I think comes through in the taste. Hope this helps. Dormy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Excellent tasting sauce. I sauteed the onion in olive oil first and then added 1/2 cup white wine. The sauce came out delicious. Don't forget a screen cover for the pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This sauce was delicious. Will make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This was really good. Much better than store bought maranara sauce! And makes the house smell wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Good, but seemed like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Almost exactly like mine, with a few exceptions. I add 1 tsp basil and 1 tsp oregano in addition to thyme. I also use a little (about 1/4 - 1/2 c) red wine (it does darken the color, but adds tons to the flavor!). Lastly, I saute the onions & fresh garlic, and then add fresh mushrooms. Saute all until tender and add to the sauce. Let simmer for a few hours and YUUUM!! You can also add 1-2 lbs ground beef, or a mixture of ground beef and italian sausage (very yummy) for a meat sauce! Glad she took the time to write this down tho, bc I never do and sometimes I forget what proportions when I try to share the recipe :). Thanks Phyllis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I thought this recipe was missing something. However, I gave it a 5 stars because it was good and my family thought it was excellent. I like how simple it is and the diced tomatoes make it some what chunky. For my taste buds though I am going to add oregano, basil and a pinch of baking soda and whatever else I can think of, in otherwords, I am just going work with it. This recipe has potential, I think maybe it was a little bitter. But again a good base or starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States