Momma's Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Texas cornbread dressing at it's finest. Although I never got my grandmother's recipe (she never wrote her recipes down), it takes just like hers. I've been making this for the last two Thanksgivings - just now getting around to rating the recipe. I get all kinds of compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I had been looking for a traditional, southern dressing recipe and this was perfect. I added 1/2 cup more broth (we like our dressing very moist), and extra spices (1 t. thyme and 1 t. savory). It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made my two cornbread loaves using Jiffy mix. For each loaf I added an extra egg, half a stick of melted butter, and 1/4 cup of sugar. Requires a slightly longer cooking time, but it is well worth it. Followed this dressing recipe pretty closely (except the boiled egg) and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I picked this recipe as it was closest to what my mom made. Mine turned out a little dry only because I didn't add all the chicken broth/stock it called for. It said add till moist not wet, so I was afraid to add more. It was good and the gravey helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe. Used it for a dinner at work. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was the closest thing that I have found to my Grandmas recipe. I made it this past Thanksgiving and it was a complete hit! I will definitely be making this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
just like my granny's recipe except 4 the eggs so i left them out. i did add 1 whole egg 2 the mix like my granny did to hold it all together and i seasoned w/ garlic, salt, pepper, thyme, and sage. yummmy!!! reminded me so much of her! thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Made this last year and it was a hit. I'll be making again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this last week to test for Thanksgiving and really loved it. I sauteed the onions, celery in butter. Also cooked a chicken breast and shredded it to put in the dressing, and since I was not cooking a turkey for broth, used canned broth. I added some crusty bread pieces to the cornbread. Used the hard cooked eggs, but also added an uncooked egg to the dressing. It was really good and will be on my menu for Thanksgiving coming up soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Tastes very similar to my grandma's dressing. I never got the recipe from her so I was thankful to find this one. I made it for my hubby and son and both ate it all and wanted more. My other grandmother used to put some chopped jalapeno peppers in her dressing to spice it up a little. I might try this next time with half the dressing and leave the other half the same. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rotorwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States