Momma's Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I am a big fan of stuffing. I use Jiffy's cornbread mix & it comes out great. I bake the cornbread as ?the box suggested. Sauteed onions, celery, red bell pepper & garlic cloves in a pan of olive oil. Once translucent i pour in a can of chicken stock, as well as meat drippings if I'm baking any kind of meat, Dash of sage & stir till it comes to a boil. Pour all of that into ?the pan of cornbread & stir & form then bake for 30 minutes. Once done, Deelish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is a basic recipe that my mom and grandmother used but they added poultry seasoning as well which gave it a little more flavor, about 1 Tbsp. or to taste. You can also add a tad sugar to sweeten it if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is my standard go to recipe for Thanksgiving dressing. The name is perfect because it tastes exactly like my Mama's and Granny's and great-granny's recipe that I've been eating my whole life. Anybody who grew up in Texas and ate cornbread dressing for Thanksgiving, look no further, this is recipe we all grew up with. Tastes like my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I tried this recipe for Christmas and it turned out great!! I did make some small changes. I used gluten free cornbread instead of regular cornbread. I didn't use garlic and I used more sage then listed. One teaspoon was not enough for my taste, I could barely taste it. I didn't use as much celery either and it came out great. This recipe is so close to my mom's recipe so I was happy I found it. Mine also didn't take that long to cook in the oven, that could be because I used gluten free bread but I only cooked it for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is exactly what I was looking for I have misplaced my great aunt's recipe and this is as close as I could get only thing is it needs way more seasoning. I added 2 tablespoons of sage and 1 tablespoon of poultry seasoning. It looks a little green but that is exactly how it is supose to be. I also use Jiffy cornbread mix and add 1 tablespoon of sugar to each package just to sweeten it up a bit. My family LOVES this so much that I usually have to make 2 or 3 batches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
So thankful for this recipe, it is the closest to my mom's I have found online (she still hasn't shared hers with me.) Only tweaks I made were omitting the sage; I had none on hand & I used homemade cornbread instead of store brand (homemade is always better in my book.) We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
As the original cooks of the family hang up their aprons, I've been forced to learn and this recipe was perfect! With some tips from my mom, I did some slight changes: I used both yellow and mexican style cornbread mix (by Martha White), gives it great flavor and a little spice. I saute my celery, onions and green bell peppers. I use raw eggs to bind and no hard cooked eggs. On occassion I add shredded turkey. I'm hungry for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimL
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
this is a good base recipe. i had to add alot of seasoning to it. it just was too plain without doing so. i loved the chopped boiled eggs in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen73076

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was a great great cornbread dressing. I made it for thanksgiving. I did however did not all of the chicken broth the recipe called for only because I was scared it would be to mushy. But it still turned out great. I will be keeping this and making it again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States