Momma OB's Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
Wanting to find a chili recipe using chicken I stumbled onto this while browsing the chili section. It was very easy and exceptionally good. I liked that it wasn't very spicy and even better when reheated the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This recipe was overpowered by the chili seasoning creating a "store bought" flavor. Suggest using only half packet or creating one using spices separately. Also, two cans of whole tomatoes was unappetizing. Perhaps one can of whole and one can of crushed would help. I have a family that eats just about everything. They asked that I not repeat this one. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. It was a great way to use up the rest of the meat from a baked chicken I had made the day before. It turned out to be really good. I skipped the kidney beans and put in black beans instead. I made cornbread to go with it, and it was a perfect meal. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
My husband really enjoyed this chili. I took the advice of others here, and made some changes. I used only 1/2 TBS of italian seasoning, 2 cans of Ro-Tel instead of the tomatoes and chilis, black beans instead of kidney, and next time I will use 1 cup instead of 1/2 cup of water or chicken broth, as it was a bit dry. I also did not pre-cook the chicken, but cooked all the ingredients in the crock pot for about six hours, rather than the recommended three. Nice for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Overall this was a satisfying and very healthy meal! It really couldn't have been any easier to prepare. The only changes I made were: I used chicken stock instead of water since I had some to use up, I added a little red wine, added one minced habanero pepper w/out the seeds, and after it was done cooking I was a little dissapointed since it looked more like a soup with chunks of chicken in it so I shredded the chicken and it looked more like a traditional chili. The chicken was so soft it literally just fell apart when I smooshed it with the spoon I was using to stir it. It is a very hearty and healthy meal!! I served it with sour cream, cheese, and biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
The flavors in this recipe is perfect - Would not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DestinyKym29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was a nice alternative to beef chili. The chicken was very tender and flavorful. Definately worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
The italian seasoning overwhelmed this recipe, but otherwise it was good. I think there also was a little too much chicken in it. It ended up okay, but I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I put this together last-minute for a football watch party. It was FANTASTIC! I only had 2 cans of black beans, so I used that instead of the kidney and chili beans. I also used 2 cans of Ro-Tel in place of the canned tomatoes and canned chiles. Finally, just due to personal preference, I only used about a tablespoon of diced onion. This was delicious and was even better the next day as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinmaguire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Different, but very good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States