'Momma Made Em' Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I saw no one had reviewed this and just had to give credit where credit is due. THIS IS SOOOOOO GOOOOOOD!! made it last night, didn't have any onions (oops) so i had to use onion powder. also subbed creole seasoning and cayenne for cajun seasoning. Doesn't really take very long (as gumbo goes) so thats a plus. my wife is from the south (US)and said it was as good as any she had ever had. Maybe she was just being nice, but still, 5 stars, man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Good gumbo recipe. I used fresh veggies and my own seasonings (cayenne, oregano, thyme, etc.). I also recommend using andouille sausage and searing it in a pan before adding it to the pot. Also, saute the okra to "de-slime" before adding to the pot. Lastly, making it a day in advance is a great idea for any gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Very yummy. I skipped the chicken and used grilled spicy chicken sausage and fresh okra and tomatoes from my garden. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Down in South Louisiana we do tings a lil dif'rent Sha! We NEVER use a prepared creole or cajun seasoning mix. We ONLY use Andouille sausage & to make the roux we use bacon fat or butter NOT oil. Our TRINITY veggies are always fresh, NOT FROZEN, and a CAST IRON DUTCH OVEN is a MUST to cook in. Dar ya go Sha, try it dis way n you will dance!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Made this dish tonite, but added shrimp, and andoullie sausage and had to add some extra hot sauce to make it authentic like down south spice. Very good recipe though, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
My husband thought this was very good! For convenience, I used a rotisserie chicken with chicken broth. The only real changes I made was in step 3. Adding the vegetables to the roux without any liquid did not make sense to me. It was too dry so I added a can of chicken broth and let it simmer. However, I don't know why everything could not just be dumped into the pot and let simmer together. Good flavor. Next time, I will use bacon grease instead of oil for more flavor and certainly fresh vegetables when in season. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was great!!!! It takes time and you have to be patient when making the roux, but it is well worth it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was so easy to make and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BelleTeteRouge
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
All, I do not know how to edit the recipe, but please use whatever sausage you like. Personally, I am not a huge fan of Andouille (even though it is more authentic) so I use my favorite. Thank you all for your reviews and comments! Everything on this recipe can be to taste. I now have to use fresh onion, celery & bell pepper because I cannot find it frozen here in Dallas. Just work with what you have, make sure to not burn the roux and it should all be good! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleTeteRouge
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Awesome dish. I changed it a little bit. First, I only used fresh vegetables, including the tomatoes. I used chicken breast and turkey sausage. I also added a little bit of sherry. It was excellent!!! Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States