'Momma Made Em' Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
ONLY one word for this AWESOME Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suellen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Lodge, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was a great base recipe for gumbo. The beauty of making gumbo is that you can make it all your own. I PERSONALLY would NEVER make gumbo with anything other than andoullie sausage and if you want to serve some really authentic gumbo try serving over potato salad instead of rice. The tomato's are strictly for a creole style gumbo and NOT a cajun gumbo so I never use them either. Have fun and experiment with things. It's hard to mess up gumbo when you have a great roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
So good. I used jalapeno sausage and fresh okra. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Oooh, yum! I miss gumbo and jambalaya here in Mozambique, but I am able to find most of these ingred. here (except I brought my own cajun seas. from the U.S.) so I made this and even the locals who are helping us here love this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Beutiful recipe for a Gumbo beginner or someone short on time! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I loved this, though the rest of the family (3 kids and husband) not so enthusiastic. I loved the flavor. Actually didn't use the chicken. Used all fresh vegetables. Next time I might actually leave out the sausage - I thought it was great without it and don't need the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joshua F
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Just made this today. I uploaded a photo, great recipe. i subbed for fresh veggies, plus some tabasco and thyme. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua F
Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Oh yum, yum, yum yum! It took quite a while to make, but is very yummy! Here are my changes: First I chopped the sausage and cooked it in a skillet, reserving the grease in a measuring cup. I then cooked the chopped peppers, onions, and celery in the same pan until soft, the placed in a separate bowl. Next I cooked bacon to render the fat and poured the fat into the measuring cup until it reached 1/2. After removing the bacon, I poured back into the skillet the grease and flour and cooked to make roux for 20 minutes. While that was cooking, I cooked 8 chicken thighs in a stock pot with one small can of chicken broth. I removed the thighs when done, then cut them into pieces and put with the sausage and vegie mixture. When the roux was ready, I poured the chicken broth into the roux and stirred, then added the meat and vegie mixture. I added Zateran's creole seasoning to taste. I did not have the okra, so I added one can of red beans and a bit of corn for color. Stir well and serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
OH MY GOODNESS! This is yummy and I don't even really like gumbo. I used all fresh veggies - the okra came from a friend's garden. I didn't put in the tomatoes because my son won't touch it then. Substituted a rotisserie chicken and added garlic, a tablespoon of Worcheshire, a squirt of tabasco and some thyme. Yep, this is a do over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Awesome dish. I changed it a little bit. First, I only used fresh vegetables, including the tomatoes. I used chicken breast and turkey sausage. I also added a little bit of sherry. It was excellent!!! Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States