'Momma Made Em' Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
You can't "simmer" veggies in roux for 45 minutes without adding liquid. I made some common sense corrections to this recipe, and used fresh everything except for frozen okra, and we liked it that way. My spices (I never use pre-mixed): 1/2 tsp each thyme, paprika, cayenne pepper, black pepper; 1 tsp oregano; 1 Tbsp. chopped garlic; 2 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce. I made the roux from butter, and it was done to my liking in 20 minutes (a little darker than chocolate milk). Thanks for posting this recipe, it was a very good base to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Very good base recipe for gumbo. I always make mine with shrimp, chicken and andouille - and ALWAYS sliced okra. I use chicken thighs to make my broth, and add my family's homemade blackening seasoning. Since I use shrimp (you can also add crab meat or oysters or crawfish), I also add Old Bay seasoning to taste. BIG TIP: definitely cook the roux until it's either the color of milk chocolate, or at least a deep reddish brown. If you see black flakes in it, it's burnt and you have to start over. Also, it's really important to cook the gumbo for at least a half-hour after adding the okra, so it loses that slimy/stringy aspect that makes a lot of people dislike it. Also, LOVE that you didn't add file powder to a recipe with okra. I see this a lot and YUCK!!! But I do know some that like to sprinkle a bit on top for flavor before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Made just how recipe said and turned out great!! Definately going into my rotation from now on! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmmoureau24
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Extremely tasty, plus it can feed an army, especially when served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Heraklion, Crete, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was delicious and easy. Great served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is for GLORIA. You used a rotisserie chicken, fine, but you have to READ the instructions and remember you were supposed to cook raw chicken ia a lot of WATER that became the BROTH for your gumbo, not a little can of broth. You always add veggies to the ROUX to brown first in making gumbo, THEN you add the 2 quarts or so of broth you were supposed to cook the chicken in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Ok, one can use canola oil as well as butter to make the roux. pre cut the onions, celery, bell peppers. At the magic moment that the roux looks like a dark peanut butter, add the onions to cool it quickly and stop it from burning. carmelize then add the rest of the trinity. add water after this is cooked a bit then add the chicken. OUr family cooks the chicken with the bones to add more flavor. We also crack an egg for each person into the end of the cooking or serve the gumbo with rice and potatoe salad in the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
ONLY one word for this AWESOME Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suellen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Lodge, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was a great base recipe for gumbo. The beauty of making gumbo is that you can make it all your own. I PERSONALLY would NEVER make gumbo with anything other than andoullie sausage and if you want to serve some really authentic gumbo try serving over potato salad instead of rice. The tomato's are strictly for a creole style gumbo and NOT a cajun gumbo so I never use them either. Have fun and experiment with things. It's hard to mess up gumbo when you have a great roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
So good. I used jalapeno sausage and fresh okra. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States