'Momma Made Em' Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This recipe is wonderful just the wonderful just the way it is. I am from Louisiana where gumbo is a cultural norm as a food eaten and learned from generation to generation. Of course it does not matter where you are from you will do things a little different so be mindful and rate fairly not because where you are from everything has to be fresh. The frozen okra works great in this recipe. I am a big fan of this one and will use it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was a really good gumbo. My family loved it. I will definitely make it again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHAWKINS2001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Great recipe! I love your later posting to "use what you got and don't burn the roux and it will be all good". Life lesson, I think. To cut down on the cooking time, I would suggest sweating the trinity first. My method was to cook the sausage in a little butter, then add the bell pepper, celery, onion and garlic and cook until soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
You can't "simmer" veggies in roux for 45 minutes without adding liquid. I made some common sense corrections to this recipe, and used fresh everything except for frozen okra, and we liked it that way. My spices (I never use pre-mixed): 1/2 tsp each thyme, paprika, cayenne pepper, black pepper; 1 tsp oregano; 1 Tbsp. chopped garlic; 2 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce. I made the roux from butter, and it was done to my liking in 20 minutes (a little darker than chocolate milk). Thanks for posting this recipe, it was a very good base to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Very good base recipe for gumbo. I always make mine with shrimp, chicken and andouille - and ALWAYS sliced okra. I use chicken thighs to make my broth, and add my family's homemade blackening seasoning. Since I use shrimp (you can also add crab meat or oysters or crawfish), I also add Old Bay seasoning to taste. BIG TIP: definitely cook the roux until it's either the color of milk chocolate, or at least a deep reddish brown. If you see black flakes in it, it's burnt and you have to start over. Also, it's really important to cook the gumbo for at least a half-hour after adding the okra, so it loses that slimy/stringy aspect that makes a lot of people dislike it. Also, LOVE that you didn't add file powder to a recipe with okra. I see this a lot and YUCK!!! But I do know some that like to sprinkle a bit on top for flavor before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Made just how recipe said and turned out great!! Definately going into my rotation from now on! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmmoureau24
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Extremely tasty, plus it can feed an army, especially when served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Heraklion, Crete, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was delicious and easy. Great served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is for GLORIA. You used a rotisserie chicken, fine, but you have to READ the instructions and remember you were supposed to cook raw chicken ia a lot of WATER that became the BROTH for your gumbo, not a little can of broth. You always add veggies to the ROUX to brown first in making gumbo, THEN you add the 2 quarts or so of broth you were supposed to cook the chicken in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Ok, one can use canola oil as well as butter to make the roux. pre cut the onions, celery, bell peppers. At the magic moment that the roux looks like a dark peanut butter, add the onions to cool it quickly and stop it from burning. carmelize then add the rest of the trinity. add water after this is cooked a bit then add the chicken. OUr family cooks the chicken with the bones to add more flavor. We also crack an egg for each person into the end of the cooking or serve the gumbo with rice and potatoe salad in the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States