Momma Lamb's Famous Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I was so excited to try this...and was a little disappointed. I used sugar free/fat free pudding...maybe that was where I went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Myself, I think this fruit salad turned out too intensely sweet. However, I asked my oldest son's opinion of it and he thought it tasted great. Difference in taste buds, I guess! I did do some adjustments to accommodate the ingredients I had in the cupboard, but the submitter of this recipe does say it can be easily doubled and that the juice from the oranges could be used. I had two 3.4-ounce boxes of lemon instant pudding, so I substituted these for vanilla. I measured out the pineapple juice (approx. 1-1/2 cups), and added enough mandarin orange juice to make 2 cups (because of the increase in the amount of pudding). I also had two 11-ounce cans of oranges and used both. I sliced up four medium-sized bananas into a smaller bowl and then sprinkled them with a tablespoon or so of bottled lemon juice to prevent them from browning. That way I could add the bananas to the salad along with the other fruits before refrigerating, and since I used it sparingly, I didn't really detect the taste of the lemon juice. The pudding didn't actually set up; rather it came out creamy, which was fine. In all, it resembled a VERY sweet, creamy fruit cocktail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
this fruit salad was good and very easy! little on the sweet side i think adding alittle milk and whip cream instead of all the juices wouldn't of been as sweet and more different kinds of fruit. i would consider making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Very good fruit salad. I omit the bananas and sometimes use lemon pudding mix. You can add whatever fruit you like. I sometimes add grapes and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I thought this recipe was good, but missing something. An 8 oz. container of cool whip and 1/2 c. milk did the job! The texture was much better. I also used sugar-free pudding. I made this for a church dinner and everyone loved it. It was the only bowl to go home empty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I used a small box of pudding (3.4 oz) and liked the way it turned out. A nice change from the fruit salad we always have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
what you need to do is take the juice of all three and mix it together. then take a cup of the juice mixture and mix it with the pudding mix. you must then cook it until it has a clear, gelly consistency. then mix the rest of the fruit in with that as instructed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
My grandmother got this recipe years and years and years ago, and it's been a staple at every family gathering since - Easter, Thanksgiving, Xmas, birthdays, etc. However, we change do it slightly different - 2 cans of mandarin oranges, a couple more bananas (since everyone loves them), and more importantly: we use 1/2 a package of cook n serve vanilla pudding, cooked on the stove with the pineapple juice until it thickens and "becomes clear". Let this cool, and then pour it over the fruit and chill until it's time to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
There must be a line left out of the recipe. If you follow this, the pineapple juice and pudding make a paste as thick as brownie batter. I added the mandarin orange juice, and some 1% milk I had until I got it the way I wanted it - which was a thick sauce, instead of pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This wasn't horrible but it wasn't as good as I'd hoped. The oranges got all runny and it was pretty soupy. It was also too sweet. One helping was all I wanted of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States