Mombasa Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Very good. This recipe did need a little spicing up. I went ahead and added in tsp of ginger, a tsp of cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg and allspice. I also did 1/2 cups of sugar instead of the 2, I didn't want the sweet to overpower the other spices. Turned out great. Quick and easy to make and requires little clean up. Wonderful fall dessert. Thanks for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I've been making the 4-serving version of this recipe for YEARS and it's now THIS all-American's holiday staple! I have cut the sugar in half, as the amount called for in the original recipe made my teeth hurt. (And I've used white sugar, brown sugar and Florida sugar aka Sucanat with equal success.) I've used canned pumpkin, but I prefer to use fresh: 1 cup pumpkin "pulp" for the 4-serving recipe, so 3 cups for this recipe as written. I buy pumpkin or winter squash when they're cheap (this year, I used a MASSIVE calabaza squash), cut in half and bake at 400F, cut side down, in 1" of water in whatever pot or casserole dish I can find that the squash will fit in, 'til fork-tender (about an hour depending upon the size of the gourd). Let cool til you can handle it, then scoop out the flesh and DRAIN WELL in a cheesecloth-lined collander (and squeeze it well!). Pack in old yogurt or butter tubs, label and freeze. Keep canned coconut milk (you can freeze any leftovers as well) and ground cardamom in the pantry and you'll be ready to make this LUCIOUS dessert any time of year! And for the record, I'm going to try it with palm / coconut sugar so it'll be Paleo / Primal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Was trying to satisfy my husband's desire for pumpkin pie in a short amount of time. Came across this recipe and followed some of the advice...less sugar, adding cinnamon, ginger, and cloves. Also used light coconut milk, added a couple of tablespoons of butter, some vanilla, and a little shake of salt. All in all it was quite tasty! Probably would be good on ice cream - or let it cook some more and have pumpkin butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I substituted lowfat plain yogurt for the coconut milk. I didn't have cardamom, so I used a combination of cinnamon, cloves, pumpkin pie spice and nutmeg. I used less than half of the sugar and added in a quarter of a cup of unsweetened applesauce for texture. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This dessert is a little different, but its nice to change things up a bit. Really good, a little sweet. House smelled amazing after I made it. It was also very easy to make, can't wait to serve it at dinner tomorrow. I to cooled overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Let me start by saying that I am a sugar addict (and not looking to go into rehab for it). Rarely do I find things that are 'too sweet' for me, but even when I only used 1 cup of sugar in this recipe (as opposed to using the 2 cups that it called for), it was still overwhelmingly sweet (thank you previous reviewers for suggesting to cut the sugar). The only way for me to fix it was to add more pumpkin. I enjoyed the cardamom, but also added cinnamon and nutmeg. After a few days in the fridge, I then returned the mixture to a pan and on medium heat added chopped chicken breasts, cilantro and curry. Served over basmati rice with some store bought garlic naan and made a great dinner out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This dessert was a hit. We tried it hot, warm, and cold. All ways were successful, but the warm was our personal favorite. The flavors of the dessert were delicate and unique and paired quite well with an African ginger cake I made. As far as the spices go, I would encourage people to use their personal tastes as a guide. I think I might add a few more spices next time to give it a more traditional sort of American pumpkin pie flavor. The recipe is very forgiving in the sense that it can accommodate your preferred flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Whipped this up using slightly more coconut milk and pumpkin in can vice real pumpkin. Came out great, everyone loved it, even my wife who can't stand anything new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was great! excellent way to use up extra pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this with 1 cup of sugar and canned pumpkin. It turned out great, except that I had a hard time knowing when to stop boiling the pudding. It didnt seem to be getting any thicker with more boil time, so I chilled it before serving and then it set to be a bit firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccakw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States