Mom Sykes' Hungarian Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Good authentic Gulasch (german spelling) recipe. There is also a soup, which we always made with oxtail. So the reviewer stating Goulash is a soup is 50% correct. We serve the Goulash with boiled potatoes (Salzkartoffel), rice and spaetzle. Truly a great fall and winter dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I was excited to try this recipe as I have not had great goulash since I lived in Europe in the early 90's. I was a bit disappointed as it did not have the wonderful flavor that I remember. The meat was tender and yummy but the sauce was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
My hubby and I give this one two thumbs up. I added peas and mushrooms for a touch of color. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was a fabulous and very easy recipe to follow. My husband is an extremely finicky eater and he ate EVERY bite of this meal. I'll use this one over and over again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayandkim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopeston, Illinois, USA
Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
AWESOME!! I had some hungarian goulash at the cheesecake factory and decided to attempt it at home. It was absolutely wonderful!! Not too spicy, tender beef and exploding with flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
The best Goulash I've had in a long time! This recipe resulted in very tender stew beef that tastes delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This was a good goulash recipe...I love the lemon zest in it. And yes, real goulash (at least the German) has lemon zest in it. I guess the other reviewer was thinking about gulaschsuppe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This recipe was a big hit with my family. Everyone had seconds! As my husband put it "This one's a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzi Tafoya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I just want to let you know that GOULASH is a SOUP!!!!!! And definitely there is no lemon on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
with any goulash the more meats the better thats all i have to say
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States