Mom Dill's Harlequin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I needed beet juice for my pickled eggs and I had no clue what I was going to do with all the left over beets - now there's no doubt in my mind what will happen to them from here on out! My husband and mother couldn't wait for this salad to get really cold before chowing down. I didn't have any canned peas so I used frozen (thawed and drained) and we loved it! I'll bet it's even better with the canned. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Sounds strange, looks strange, tastes great! Needs less dressing added, in my opinion - will try a 1/4 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYRDYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
What? No 10 stars? I love both beets and peas. I added the onion for the crunch effect (love onions too!). This is wonderful! I have to admit I cheated and took a taste before it was really, really cold. Better when fully chilled. Simple, yet tasty. The only thing I would recommend is to quarter the beets due to size before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Rather bland, but this tastes good. We love peas, beets, and onions, so the combination was a winner. I'll use less Miracle Whip next time, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great salad idea! Whodda thunk? I ended up using what I had on hand + added 1 ingedient: Dill. (I wondered where the "dill" in the name of the recipe was) My subs were: Equal parts of sour cream & mayo, mixed & 2+ teaspoons dried dill. (I also added 2 extra Tbs onions- I used fresh, sweet Vidalias.) Even the Skeptics liked this one! Cold is key! JEMD- Thanks for submitting & thank your M-I-L!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was good! But you can use less mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I wasn't sure about this at first, but this is really good and refreshing! I agree with those who said to use less mayo, I took that advice and it was perfect that way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Adding chopped hard cooked eggs makes it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
simple and delicious...but the dill wasn't listed in the recipe so I just added "to taste"...I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirkie1
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States