Molten Lava Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this recipe for Christmas dinner this year! Everyone in my family LOVED it especially since we're all Chocoholics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These are OK... they're actually very yummy when they come out of the oven, which is the best time to serve them. Nice and hot. However, after they cool they become average chocolate cookies. The chocolate in the center becomes rock hard and makes for an unpleasant texture. I tried microwaving them for 15-20 seconds to melt the chocolate again, and although it worked, the cookie wasn't nearly as good as when it came out of the oven. Because I like to bake cookies and have them on hand to serve at a later time, these just aren't practical... I don't want to be in the kitchen baking cookies while my guests are in another room just to give them that out-of-the-oven "molten lava" experience. Perhaps this isn't a fair review for an otherwise good recipe, but convenience and serving are just as important factors to me as taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCBARTKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was an AMAZING recipe! Definitely tasted like something at a restaurant. I think our cookies turned out a little flat because I didn't add enough baking powder (I just relied on my self-rising flour to fill the requirements). I also recommend putting the dough in the fridge for an hour or two so that it can harden enough to shape into balls. The dough was really tacky and made it very difficult to shape. Unless you add extra flour or refrigerate, I suggest just putting chocolate chips in the cookies. They are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I was skeptical at first, on account of I HATE dark chocolate, but once the cookies were all done, they tasted great, and I haven't had one single complaint. I mad a double batch for christmas trays, and they went before the day was over, so now I need to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This is a really good recipe. It's not that hard to make and it tastes good. The only problem I have with it is the tediousness of adding the chocolate bits into the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumncat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
These aren't exactly what I was expecting, but they were ok. They were a pain in the butt to make. After adding a bit of the flour, I had to dive in with clean hands and mix. The mixer was getting stuffed full of dough, and there's no way a wooden spoon was going to help. Then after balling them up, smushing them, filling them with chopped chocolate (which I threw into the blender because I was sick of trying to chop it), and covering them, I carefully rolled them back into a ball. I baked the first batch for 9 minutes, the second for 10, and the last four cookies (I ended up with 28) for 11. I ended up having to put batch 1 and 2 back in for 3 minutes, so I'd do 11 minutes from the get go. I was excited, and they sounded so yummy, but maybe that was just a spur of the moment pregnancy thing. I probably won't make them again. Such a hassle for something I really didn't even like that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
These cookies turned out great, and were a cinch to make! Instead of chopping up baking chocolate, I simply lucked out buying some chocolate baking chips (they were like large chocolate chips). This refrigerated pretty well (which means that it would be quite easy to make the dough ahead of time and then bake them later that night or so when you wish to serve them). The dough was VERY easy to handle, which was great, and made putting the filling in quite easy. The size of the cookies is great, and the chocolate flavor is rich, but not disgustingly overpowering (they're great with a cool glass of milk!). I definitely recommend these cookies and would be pleased to use them again. My friends and family raved about them (my boyfriend even called me up AT WORK to explain how much he loves them, haha!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States