Molten Chocolate Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I have only eaten this on cruises before and of course thought it was way too difficult to make. SO NOT TRUE. This was so easy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except greased, buttered and dusted ramekins with a cocoa/sugar mix. Baked for 12 minutes. The cakes slid right out. The next time I will skip the whipped cream and just sprinkle wiht powedered sugar. I impressed myself. My husband is thrilled with the money he will save taking us on cruises to have this dessert.LOL. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gooding, Idaho, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This recipe is AWESOME! I always order this dessert if I see it on a restaurant menu. I made 12 cupcake sized cakes instead of 4 since they are so rich. Satisfies the chocolate craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I think the bake time is way too long and the temp is too high. I made these twice, the first time I baked them 2 mins less than suggested and the middles didn't ooze and the edges were almost burnt. I did it again with the oven decreased to 350 and for 9mins. Better but still not quite. I am looking for something like Morton's Godiva chocolate cake. Maybe I will try again with some liqour added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I love it! I've had a hard time finding a good molten cake recipe and this one is delicious and easy. I add a dash of salt to it (to enhance the chocolate) and serve with ice cream instead of Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I tried this recipe using semi sweet chocolate chips in place of the semi sweet baker's chocolate; it doesn't work. The chocolate chips bake into the mix and the volcano doesn't erupt. However, my Aunt said that they were the best brownies ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flitters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Tried this for the first time tonight and used the recipe as stated with the exception of the Cool Whip. (I topped ours with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce drizzles.) 13 minutes at 425 worked exactly right for me, but I did follow suggestions and first checked at 9 minutes. Thanks for such a great and easy recipe. My daughter said it was even better than Chili's! (Now THAT'S a compliment!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Terrific taste, but I had to cook it only 10 minutes in order to still have a molten center. Easier than some other recipes I've tried (and chocolatier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Okay, I had to give this 5 stars because I made so many mistakes with the recipe and it stilled turned out delicious! I am looking forward to making it again and actually following the recipe, I can't even imagine how good it will taste. So my mistakes -- I used unsweetened chocolate instead of semi-sweet (not bad if you don't like overly sweet desserts, I think I might try 2 oz. of each next time) and I completely left out the flour! The cakes came out as flat as can be but the taste was still yummy! I recommend following the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATISSO8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Brilliant recipe. It turned out awesome...ofcorse I also realised that for me...13 minutes is a bit much and 11 should do the trick, to keep the centre all flowy! I served this hot with a scoop of ice cream on top. It's to die for!! Will try this with dark chocolate the next time!! Thanks for the recipe!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Too sweet and not chocolatey enough. I lowered the temperature since it just seemed to high. 350 seemed good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States