Molten Chocolate Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I have only eaten this on cruises before and of course thought it was way too difficult to make. SO NOT TRUE. This was so easy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except greased, buttered and dusted ramekins with a cocoa/sugar mix. Baked for 12 minutes. The cakes slid right out. The next time I will skip the whipped cream and just sprinkle wiht powedered sugar. I impressed myself. My husband is thrilled with the money he will save taking us on cruises to have this dessert.LOL. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gooding, Idaho, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This recipe is AWESOME! I always order this dessert if I see it on a restaurant menu. I made 12 cupcake sized cakes instead of 4 since they are so rich. Satisfies the chocolate craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I think the bake time is way too long and the temp is too high. I made these twice, the first time I baked them 2 mins less than suggested and the middles didn't ooze and the edges were almost burnt. I did it again with the oven decreased to 350 and for 9mins. Better but still not quite. I am looking for something like Morton's Godiva chocolate cake. Maybe I will try again with some liqour added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I love it! I've had a hard time finding a good molten cake recipe and this one is delicious and easy. I add a dash of salt to it (to enhance the chocolate) and serve with ice cream instead of Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I tried this recipe using semi sweet chocolate chips in place of the semi sweet baker's chocolate; it doesn't work. The chocolate chips bake into the mix and the volcano doesn't erupt. However, my Aunt said that they were the best brownies ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flitters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Tried this for the first time tonight and used the recipe as stated with the exception of the Cool Whip. (I topped ours with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce drizzles.) 13 minutes at 425 worked exactly right for me, but I did follow suggestions and first checked at 9 minutes. Thanks for such a great and easy recipe. My daughter said it was even better than Chili's! (Now THAT'S a compliment!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Terrific taste, but I had to cook it only 10 minutes in order to still have a molten center. Easier than some other recipes I've tried (and chocolatier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Okay, I had to give this 5 stars because I made so many mistakes with the recipe and it stilled turned out delicious! I am looking forward to making it again and actually following the recipe, I can't even imagine how good it will taste. So my mistakes -- I used unsweetened chocolate instead of semi-sweet (not bad if you don't like overly sweet desserts, I think I might try 2 oz. of each next time) and I completely left out the flour! The cakes came out as flat as can be but the taste was still yummy! I recommend following the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATISSO8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Brilliant recipe. It turned out awesome...ofcorse I also realised that for me...13 minutes is a bit much and 11 should do the trick, to keep the centre all flowy! I served this hot with a scoop of ice cream on top. It's to die for!! Will try this with dark chocolate the next time!! Thanks for the recipe!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Too sweet and not chocolatey enough. I lowered the temperature since it just seemed to high. 350 seemed good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States