Molly's Mouthwatering Tzatziki Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is a good recipe, and really doesnt need mayo. I always add some dill and a little mint, and just a hint of lemon to achieve a true tzatziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very easy to make and tastes great! I did add a little dill after reading other reviews. I cant wait to find other dishes that I can make this for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Great recipe, I make it very similar to this, I don't use mayo, but I do add dill and a squeeze of lemon juice, which adds a nice burst of freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
don't need the sour cream either. In Egypt we use yogurt, cucumbers, garlic, salt and that's it! totally healthy no need to use fat free anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by layla13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Made this per original recipe...Molly, it IS mouthwatering! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I skipped the mayo, excluded salt and added dill, garlic powder and onion powder instead. This was soooo good, and very easy. I used it on chicken pitas. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Carreras

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was really good. I omitted the mayo and added some fresh dill. I also squeezed as much liquid out of the cucumbers as I could. I would definitely recommend doing that because a lot of liquid came out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is an awesome recipe to start from. I omitted the mayo and added dill, lemon and cavender's greek seasoning. I also used fat free yogurt that I drained using a strainer and a coffee filter. It's a great way to pinch a few pennies and calories off of this great sauce. This is excellent paired up with pepperocini beef (on this site). I changed that recipe by piercing a london broil and sticking sliced garlic inside. I also rubbed with Cavender's and let it sit overnight before cooking. btw- the sauce is sooo much better when you allow it to sit overnight. So prepare the sauce when you rub the broil and start the crockpot first thing in the morning. It is worth every minute of prep. Speaking of prep... I couldn't find the lid of my food processor so I just chopped the cucumber as fine as possible. I think I like the texture more than when I used the FP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I used all fat free ingredients and it came out great. Very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SlowcookerSeduction

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Delicious and authentic tasting! As most others did, I too, omitted the mayo. I used low-fat Greek yogurt and light sour cream and you never would have known. The addition of dill is a necessity. I used a paper towel to strain the cucumber and then I squeezed some of the juice back into the mixture because the towel certainly soaks up a majority. Added a dash of garlic powder, onion powder, lemon juice and olive oil. It had a strong yogurt odor so I was afraid the taste would lack, but boy was I wrong! I do recommend refrigerating several hours prior to serving in order for the minced garlic to permeate the yogurt. FYI- it will appear curdled even though it is not. This is due to the cucumber being processed. For a more aesthetically pleasing sauce, shred the cucumber with a cheese grater. Fabulous find, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States