Molly's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
When I made this I used boneless breasts and doubled the sauce. As others mentioned a thin sauce, I dredged the chicken in flour before adding to the slow-cooker and then topped with the sauce ingredients. When the sauce is cooking, it smelled kind of weird, but when I served it over white rice, it tasted terrific! The sauce was just slightly thickened (in a good way). Note for next time -- no need to double the sauce, single batch makes plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Absolutely delicious and easy!! On Sunday afternoon I wanted to cook something in my crockpot for the week ahead, by the time I decided to try this chicken recipe it was 3:30 so I thought, I'll cook it and at least it will be ready by around 8:00 pm then I'll have something ready for tomorrow. well I skinned the chicken thighs and put them in the crockput then put a can of tomatoe soup in a bowl and mixed in the soya sauce less then 1/4 cup and used 1/4 cup of brown sugar chopped up two cloves and maybe about 3 tbsp of minced onion, and sliced thin about 4 small carrots, stirred it all together poured it over the chicken gave that a stir. and had the pot on high....checked it at 7:30 and the meat looked purfect!! cooked some rice, and wow! within 31/2 hours we were eating a wonderful tasty dinner, my sons loved it! I have a rather finicky 3 year old, and he loved this dinner! My 7 year old asked for 2nds!! I have a few pieces and lots of gravy left over for tomorrows meal, Thank you so much for sharing this recipe and for all the little additional ideas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I used bone-in chicken breasts and coated them in flour first. I also added baby carrots and onions to the slow cooker. And I think it was the best thing I have made in the slow cooker yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This was delicious! I made a few modifications: Used 3 chicken saddles (thigh and drumstick ) without skin, trimmed of fat, and dredged in flour. Added a can of tomato soup (didn't have another can of tomato sauce), about 1 Tbsp of ground ginger, and 1 Tbsp dried, minced garlic (out of fresh). Followed recipe on amount of soy sauce and brown sugar. Once the chicken was falling off the bone, which only took about 6 hours on low in my slow cooker, I removed the bones and used tongs to sort of shred the chicken. If trying to remove the chicken from the slow cooker to serve along side of rice and sauce, I suggest using a large slotted spoon. The chicken is so tender that it will fall apart via any other method. I served the chicken and sauce over white rice and sprinkled slivered almonds on top. My husband and 6-year-old LOVED it. Will definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maroa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
My hubby enjoyed this dish and had seconds. This may have had something to do with my one modification to the recipe - I added a good splash of wiskey to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillith32

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Really good! Like so many reviewers of this and other recipes, I had my doubts about the tomato-soy sauce combo, but it was great. I used 3 frozen whole medium-sized boneless skinless chicken breasts (1½ lbs total), 3/8 cup soy sauce, 2 TBS veg broth, 1/4 cup plus 2 TBS brown sugar, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 can of sliced mushrooms, 1/4 of a largish onion (sliced), and the 8 ounces of tomato sauce. 8 hours on low later, it was dinner time. I shredded the chicken a bit in the slow cooker and served it with white rice and steamed carrots and broccoli. It was sweet enough that our four-year-old enjoyed it, and my husband inhaled the stuff! Very good, thanks for sharing, CookieLuvr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Has to be one of the easiest recipes for drumsticks that I've used yet. The teriyaki-type sauce (a mixture of flavours that we didn't find strange at all) was a huge hit with the family and the meat was so moist it was falling off the bones. Delicious and simple! What more could a busy mom ask for..... I did brown my chicken first, don't know if that was necessary or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This was such an easy and yummy recipe, that's why I'm giving it 5 stars. My picky 3-year old loved the chicken and my health conscience husband like that it was flavorful and light. We served it with white rice and with a salad. The sauce was perfect for pouring over the rice. This will definitely become a favorite for this busy mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This chicken was easy to make and wasn't terrible, however I don't think it is a 4 star dish so I felt I had to drop it down a little. It was a bit salty and the sauce was a bit thin, even though I dredged the drumsticks in flour. I wonder if adding a little ketchup to the sauce would make it more flavorful without being just salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soo Jin McBride

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
this is so simple, and all my family liked it, I did add a little more brown sugar, I have a bit of a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States