Mole Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
!Santo moly! this is a GREAT recipe. Didn't change a thing for ingredients, except using olive oil in place of lard, as someone suggested. I'm glad I went with dark chocolate, instead of semi-sweet-two very different flavors. Only prep I changed up was using my hand held immersion blender, gradually adding anything cooked in the skillet, into the pot and blending in each addition. We love authentic Mexican food, which is hard to find in Ohio. Just another reason to vacation in Mexico:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ironwoman (audrey)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I loved the mole recipe! I made a few tweaks, but it was still delicious! I substituted lard with olive oil, replaced the dinner roll with another corn tortilla, used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, and omitted the ancho chiles only because I couldn't find any! I served the mole in a fondue dish with a plate full of cubed grilled tofu, sweet potatoes, zucchini, and yellow bottleneck squash for skewing and dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Very good recipe. Takes a little time but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made it the way posted it was great , made it again used a fried banana in place of the sugar and WOW it was GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I am a frequent 'tester' of several of the recipes on this website. I typically enjoy what I try out but nothing has ever blown me away like this recipe. It was so delicious that I decided to create an account and write a review. The flavors are amazing and blend so well together, something I have found difficult with other mole recipes I have tried out. I used dried anaheim peppers and jalapenos with the guajillo peppers because I could not find the others listed in the recipe. I also used the mini semi-sweet morsals for the dark chocolate requested. Having a good blender is important because the mixture is quite thick. I agree with the others that the sauce really develops well after a few hours or so of sitting in the refrigerator prior to using. I re-heated it on the stove when ready to use. I used it over pulled pork that was smoked, absolutely delicious! My guests all asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I had never tried mole until I made this recipe today. The first taste was strange. I didn't really like it, but for some reason I couldn't stop dipping my spoon in. After letting it sit for about 30 minutes, I tried a second taste and WOW, this stuff is amazing! It has really complex flavors: bitter, sweet, nutty, savory. I plan to use it on some cheese enchiladas tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made this recipe over the weekend. It is SUPER delicious and makes a good amount of sauce. I've made two meals with it so far and still have a large jar full. I'm keeping this one for sure and hope to make it many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This recipe was exactly what i was looking for my mom and i loved it. This was the very first mole i had ever made the video helped big time. i finally got my mole fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States