Mole Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I have always loved moles but have never found a recipe that matches the ones I have had at my fav Mexican restaurants.....until now. I think the recipe video is what really inspired me and helped me through the steps. That being said, this is EXCELLENT. Only two things to add to this.....time.....I made this one day and I didn't think it had the flavor I was looking for. After a day in the frig. this sauce developed into a delicious and rich mole. The only other problem that I had was in step 6. The mole in the blender was too thick to blend the added vegetables. So I added the final cup of chicken stock to the blender and it blended easily. I then poured the blended mixture into the pan and added the rest of the ingredients. I was just a bit puzzled by the description of dark chocolate so I added 5 oz. of 80% chocolate with chilis in it. I do think this would work with any good dark (sweetened) chocolate though.The plus is that this makes alot so I am freezing pints of the stuff to pull out when we have a craving for mole. This is fabulous Allrecipes! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! It makes a mole sauce that competes with the best authentic resturants or cooks. My suggestions: I think too much chicken broth was called for as it is named three times in the recipe but only two cups are actually used? I just used according to the directions and also actually cut down a bit on the chicken broth at the end to get a thicker sauce. Otherwise this was absolutely excellent. It even beats a brown mole recipe I tried from a professional food site/network (hint, hint). This makes a LOT of sauce, so be prepared to either feed a herd or freeze some. Which is fine; freezing has no negative effect at all. Also, I used half semi-sweet chocolate and half straight powdered cocoa to make sure I didn't get too much sweet. Doing so made it perfect as the more bitter chocolate I think blended better with the savory tone of the sauce. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by calimomof4
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This was our first time making molé so our only comparisons are from restaurants but this is a truly amazing recipe. Incredibly delicious. The ingredients are available at any larger chain grocery store. This recipe is worth every second it takes to make. We also made "the real mojitos" from this site and our evening was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made it the way posted it was great , made it again used a fried banana in place of the sugar and WOW it was GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I had never tried mole until I made this recipe today. The first taste was strange. I didn't really like it, but for some reason I couldn't stop dipping my spoon in. After letting it sit for about 30 minutes, I tried a second taste and WOW, this stuff is amazing! It has really complex flavors: bitter, sweet, nutty, savory. I plan to use it on some cheese enchiladas tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This recipe was exactly what i was looking for my mom and i loved it. This was the very first mole i had ever made the video helped big time. i finally got my mole fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
!Santo moly! this is a GREAT recipe. Didn't change a thing for ingredients, except using olive oil in place of lard, as someone suggested. I'm glad I went with dark chocolate, instead of semi-sweet-two very different flavors. Only prep I changed up was using my hand held immersion blender, gradually adding anything cooked in the skillet, into the pot and blending in each addition. We love authentic Mexican food, which is hard to find in Ohio. Just another reason to vacation in Mexico:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Very good recipe. Takes a little time but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I am a frequent 'tester' of several of the recipes on this website. I typically enjoy what I try out but nothing has ever blown me away like this recipe. It was so delicious that I decided to create an account and write a review. The flavors are amazing and blend so well together, something I have found difficult with other mole recipes I have tried out. I used dried anaheim peppers and jalapenos with the guajillo peppers because I could not find the others listed in the recipe. I also used the mini semi-sweet morsals for the dark chocolate requested. Having a good blender is important because the mixture is quite thick. I agree with the others that the sauce really develops well after a few hours or so of sitting in the refrigerator prior to using. I re-heated it on the stove when ready to use. I used it over pulled pork that was smoked, absolutely delicious! My guests all asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States