Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Easy, tasty cookie, great for children to help make. I used butter flavored shortening, which was perfect. Replaced white sugar with (loosely measured) dark brown sugar which gave a richer flavor, and rolled the cookies in turbinado sugar, which was pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great flavors. Cookies really had a ginger bite to them. Make sure they are sealed or become hard quickly. Microwave is also an easy fix to soften hard cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lambert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
My grandmother, who passed away in 2012, made the best molasses sugar cookies. Until this recipe, nothing has ever come close. These are absolutely delicious, soft yet chewy and freeze GREAT! I followed the recipe exactly as is and couldn't have been happier. I'm pretty sure you got this recipe from my gram ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
O.M.G. I don't consider myself much of a baker, but I felt like a pastry chef when I made these tonight. These are the best cookies ever! I was looking for a recipe similar to my late grandma's, and these are even better (sorry grandma). I didn't want 72 cookies, so I cut the recipe in half, and I added a tablespoon of corn syrup to make them extra chewy/gooey. I also skipped melting the Crisco, and didn't refrigerate as I was too impatient. Makes about three dozen. By the way, I have never rated anything, but these were way too good not to comment. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe precisely and found it a little lacking. It might've been me but I'm an experienced cookie baker so I don't think so. While the taste is good, I want a molasses cookie to taste more molasses-y and less of other spices. Also mine were flat as a pancake and I'd like mine a little more meatier...more like Archways. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I don't use shortening, though, so I substituted melted butter and the cookies were perfect! These cookies are nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Mine turned out like flat pancakes and I could not taste the spices at all and the sugar that I rolled them in disappeared when they were baked. I used margarine instead of shortening so not sure if this is the reason they did not turn out. I did not change anything else in the recipe. It seemed liked they needed more flour and they were really greasy. They were soft when they came out of the oven but turned hard and crispy when they cooled. I could eat them but my boyfriend couldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made these at Christmas 2013. Everyone loved them! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I'm not a fan of molasses cookies, but those who like molasses cookies said these were good. They said you could taste it but it wasn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
So good! A friend had made these for a party and they were delicious. I decided to make some for Christmas with a couple of tweaks even though they are 5 star as is- I used 1 c brown sugar and 1 c white sugar, doubled the amount of ginger and halved the amount of cloves. Then I drizzled them with semisweet chocolate once they cooled. For those on the South Shore of Boston, these reminded me of Ginger Betty's signature cookie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States