Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
My go-to cookie recipe. Molasses cookies make me think of Christmas, and Grandma's cookie jar where she always had molasses cookies for me when she knew I was coming to visit. I've made this cookie about 30 times now, with many variations and they have all come out great. Here are my tips. I suspect the reason to let the shortening cool after melting is not to add the eggs to hot oil, which would be bad. My preference is slightly melty, but mostly room temperature, butter flavored Crisco. I've done part shortening, part room temperature butter and that works fine too. I cream the shortening and sugar really well, add the molasses, then the eggs. I've not bothered to sift the flour and spices. Instead I add all together in a big bowl and whisk them to combine. I go a slight bit heavy (a couple dashes more than called for) on the cloves and ginger, and I've even done a few dashes of pumpkin pie spice too. It all boils down to the spices you like. I definitely like to chill the dough to make it easier to work with. In the past I've split the dough in half to bake part right away, and saved part for later. I've needed to add a few tablespoons of flour to the dough if using right away without chilling it. I've stored the dough in the refrigerator for up to a week, to bake when it was convenient. I get a little over 5 dozen cookies from this recipe. I've not tried the variation of using part brown sugar instead of all granulated white sugar. I like to roll the cookies in washe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanna Jacks
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Made this exactly how recipe was given. Love love these way too much they killed my diet I could not stop eating them. Definitely will be putting these on my cookie trays at Christmas and making throughout the year. Definitely watch your cooking time if you want them soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shinnston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeatrixKiddo
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Good flavor. Big hit for people who like molasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatrixKiddo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
My first time making molasses cookiest and this seems to be a great recipe! Might tweak a bit, because my husband says they taste a bit salty (I only put in the recipe amount), and he says maybe add a bit more ginger. But, overall, great! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
These cookies had a wonderful taste. I overcooked them, so some were a bit hard. But, when you dip them in your coffee, they are like a biscotti!! None going to waste here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I loved these cookies. I made a couple of changes based on comments; - reduced the recipe down to 36 cookies. - used butter because shortening is nasty. - did not cool the rolled dough in the refrigerator. - just a slight sprinkling of sugar before cooking. - took the cookies out of the oven a little less than 10 minutes. Result, awesome cookies. thanks Karin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Why wait for the holidays for a great little cookie! They were crispy and delicious. I made the recipe almost exactly as written except I only melted 1/2 cup of the shortening then mixed it with the solid. It worked well. The recipe makes a lot so I will be packing the dough in the refrigerator for later baking. Otherwise, I'd just sit and eat cookies until they are gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Excellent cookie. Nice texture and soft if stored properly. I made the cookies a bit larger than directed and cooked 2-4 minutes longer. They turned out perfect and are a big hit at home and work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOERSEMA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Perfect. I left the extra dough in the fridge for a week and made a pan every few days. They were always delicious. Worth the 3 hour chill time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
These were okay, but I didn't like the crunchy outside, gooey inside consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States