Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I have never been great at making cookies, mine always get hard. Then I read a review that said if this happens you are over cooking them. I followed the time on these for 8 minutes(which was very hard because they look so underdone when you pull them out) and they were some of the best cookies I've ever made. They stayed soft and were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I loved this recipe. Don't be alarmed if your dough gets crumbly, after it is refrigerated it rolls up into perfect balls. I cooked it for less than the original time and it turned out better than I had hoped! I tend to make a lot of mistakes when I am baking, but with this recipe nothing turned out wrong. It's so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I've made this several times for my boys and it quickly became their favorite. You have to keep a slice of bread in the container or they will harden. The only change I made to this recipe is that I added about a tsp. of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I wouldn't change a thing! I made this in a half batch since I didn't want too many cookies in the house. They came out perfect at 9 minutes for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Flavor was okay, and the method of making them wasn't bad either. But the temperature is way off along with the baking time. I wouldn't make these again, nor recommend this recipe to anyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Easy, tasty cookie, great for children to help make. I used butter flavored shortening, which was perfect. Replaced white sugar with (loosely measured) dark brown sugar which gave a richer flavor, and rolled the cookies in turbinado sugar, which was pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great flavors. Cookies really had a ginger bite to them. Make sure they are sealed or become hard quickly. Microwave is also an easy fix to soften hard cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
My grandmother, who passed away in 2012, made the best molasses sugar cookies. Until this recipe, nothing has ever come close. These are absolutely delicious, soft yet chewy and freeze GREAT! I followed the recipe exactly as is and couldn't have been happier. I'm pretty sure you got this recipe from my gram ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
O.M.G. I don't consider myself much of a baker, but I felt like a pastry chef when I made these tonight. These are the best cookies ever! I was looking for a recipe similar to my late grandma's, and these are even better (sorry grandma). I didn't want 72 cookies, so I cut the recipe in half, and I added a tablespoon of corn syrup to make them extra chewy/gooey. I also skipped melting the Crisco, and didn't refrigerate as I was too impatient. Makes about three dozen. By the way, I have never rated anything, but these were way too good not to comment. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe precisely and found it a little lacking. It might've been me but I'm an experienced cookie baker so I don't think so. While the taste is good, I want a molasses cookie to taste more molasses-y and less of other spices. Also mine were flat as a pancake and I'd like mine a little more meatier...more like Archways. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States