Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is my absolute favorite cookie recipe. I have made them over and over and they are perfect every time. They are crisp and crackled on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside, spicy and warm, just sweet enough. My changes: I use butter instead of shortening. I melt the butter, then cream it together with the sugar and molasses until the mix is light brown and fluffy. Then I add the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
These smell so good while they are baking! I halved the recipe because I didn't want too many cookies around and boom they were gone.These came out so good, I did use 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening. I also did 1/2 cup granulated and 1/2 cup brown sugar. These are the best cookies. I'm going to have to make a whole recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Beautiful,easy and tasty. Read the other reviews and did not chill dough it became firm and easy to handle just by leaving it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
The flavor is awesome, but they were really flat - I'm going to try the half butter next time to see if it makes a difference. I also had to reduce the cooking time to 9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I give this 4 stars because I had to do some modifications. Instead of melting shortening and letting it cool, I used butter and creamed it with the sugar like most cookies. I then proceed to add the eggs and molasses and blend in the dry ingredients. When done like that they have a great taste and don't take any longer than any other cookie. One of my favorite cookies. Love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
These are amazing! I made them last year for a holiday party and everyone loved them. I added a drizzle of melted semi sweet chocolate over the top to dress them up a little bit. They were Great and the Bread trick works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Very good cookie, spices mild and just right. Agree with the baker who said to NOT substitute butter for the Crisco. Unless of course you want a flatter cookie. I do not feel it improves the flavor to use butter, and it changes the consistency quite a bit. I've done both ways and prefer the Crisco. Have no idea why you would melt and then let resolidify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
really love how chewy they are in the middle and crisp on the out side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
These are the Best! My husband always requests these around the Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reandeau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by winnyb
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
The best molasses cookie I have ever had or made so easy one of them OMG cookies !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pownal, Maine, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States