Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
AMAZING. So incredibly good and very very easy to whip up. I don't even sift the flour/spices. I just throw it in the bowl after I've mixed the wet ingredients. An easy, one-bowl recipe. I've also been in a hurry and baked it immediately after mixing and it turned out just fine, along with getting the beautiful crackles on top. I dip the tops of the dough balls in sugar b4 baking and sprinkle a little on top after it's done. I also use 50/50 white and light brown sugar which gives it a richer taste. Spice amounts are also right on. For walnut size dough balls, 10 min. is the perfect baking time. My master molasses recipe from now on. TIP - I'm quite firm about using real butter for all my baking recipes, but Molasses cookies is the one exception. Using shortening will give this cookie it's chewiness so I'd recommend NOT to substitute with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
493 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Jen S.
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
These come out exactly the way a molasses cookie should! 2 things: Definitely watch cooking time...if you like a chewy cookie, stick to the approx. 10min bake time-they may look too undercooked but that is fine. If you like a crispy cookie, let them go 2 mins longer. They definitely go from being chewy to being crispy QUICK so watch the time!! Also, just an FYI, I started out using coarse sugar sprinkles by Wilson (the decorator kind)but changed to the standard fine red sugar that you find in the grocery store. The coarse sugar looked pretty but was too crunchy for this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
These were really good. Usually, I do not even like molasses cookies, but these were nice and chewy on the inside, not too sweet, and just the right amount of spice. My father loved them,and my friend said they were the best ginger bread cookies she has ever had! My mother though, first felt they tasted a lot like fried oil, whick I think was because of the shortening, but then said they were good after a few bites. But I think next time, I will try them with butter instead, just to avoid the oil taste. Oh and they were perfect after only 3 hours of refrigeration. All in all, fabulous recipe! Thanks for sharing it!!!**UPDATE**: I have now tried them with butter instead, and they are sooo amazingly perfect! From now on, I will only make them with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
REALLY yummy! Spiced well and taste like perfect little gingersnaps but not rock hard. I added 2 TBS of corn syrup to make them a bit chewy. The recipe makes tons too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREN003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamestown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Oh, my gosh, these are great! I followed recipe as written, refrigerated dough 4 hours and baked. While first batch was in the oven, I rolled rest of dough and put in fridge until ready for next batch, then rolled the balls in sugar and baked. Dough very easy to work with. Ten minutes at 375 and the cookies were PERFECT; just the right amount of crisp on outside and softness inside. The texture could not be better and the taste was a perfect blend of spices (even though they were a bit too sweet for my husband) and a big hit with neighbors. Thanks, Karin, for this great recipe. I'll e making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Delicious! I made these for Christmas and they were a real hit with my family. I live in Australia and couldn't buy all of the ingredients, so I substituted butter for shortening and treacle for molasses. This recipe is a keeper. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These were very good. Smelled excellent when baking. They do begin to get hard quicky, so I'd suggest storing them as soon as you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ditty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
These cookies are absolutely phenomenal! I'm not usually a huge fan of sugar cookies in general, but the spice and kick they have are so amazing. By far one of the best recipes I've come across. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
AMAZING! Moist, just the right amount of spice, yummy!!! Per other reviews, I used 1 c. shortening and 1/2 c. butter. I omitted the cloves. Also, I didn't melt the shortening (what is the point?), just creamed the shortening and butter together before adding other ingredients. I also didn't chill the dough at all. I could see if I was using a cookie cutter, but for these I didn't see the need. They came out PERFECT! Baked for 10 minutes so they would be a tiny bit crispy on the outside. I sprinkled with powdered sugar per another review to make them pretty. I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This recipe is outstanding. I made about 10 dozen this year, because everyone kept asking for more! The best part: making 10 dozen was so easy! I rolled in red and green sugar for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pocono Lake, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States