Molasses Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Very nice flavorful cookie. They come out very crisp. My husband and neighbor loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Like alot! Added Pineapple juice instead of brandy.. Wayy Good ((:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
The cookies didn't spread at all! They looked weird and tasted salty. Would use all butter next time and pinch of salt only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOOBSIEE
Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Seems to be a foolproof recipe. I made them twice this holiday season, and they always turned out soft and chewy. I added 3 chunks/chips of dark chocolate inside. It is a delicious flavor combination. These were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These are pretty much the best cookies I've ever tasted. Soooo good chewy. I wanted to eat them all right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Amazing cookies. I have never made ginger cookies before and was looking for the perfect recipe. My family gave them an A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
AHmazing cookies!! I used 1cup butter flavored shortening and a 1/2 cup butter since that's all I had on hand. Baked for 10 mins and out came one of the most delicious cookies my mouth has encountered..! WTG Karin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I did not like cookies that much., but that is probably because I do not care for molasses. Cookies came out nicely after baking, but I did not care for them. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Perfect cookie! Used butter (shortening grosses me out). Gave a bunch away and EVERYONE liked them, even the people who said "Yuck, I hate molasses!" Making these again for a bake sale. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen914
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I'm not sure how the recipe is without the following changes but I made these changes per some reviews and they were FABULOUS! 1} Take 2 tablespoons of the half cup of molasses away and replace it with honey. (I figured it would add more depth to the total flavor) 2} Substitute half of the white sugar with the same amount of TIGHTLY packed brown sugar. (makes a chewier and richer cookie /makes up for the missing molasses) 3}I doubt this made much of a difference but I used half unsalted butter and half shortening. Just a personal preference over all shortening. The dough is really stiff so have a mixer or be prepared for a little workout. The refrigeration isn't really necessary if you just use softened fats instead of melting them. Make sure to really keep and eye on these as they cook QUICK, The SECOND you see the edges just START to brown, take them out, even if it still seems doughy, I promise they will set and be wonderfully chewy once they cool down a bit. If you see my photos, I baked mine about a minute TOO long this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States