Molasses Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is a great spice cookie, even for me though I don't usually appreciate that sort of thing. We didn't have any ginger, so I used pumpkin pie spice in place of all the spices. I also tried to roll and cut these into shapes, but that didn't work out-- the cookies ballooned (my three-year-old though it was magic: the gingerbread men turned into snowmen!) But the cookies tasted great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I have finally found a cookie that I make well and tastes great! Thank you, Karin! Unbelievable!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made these for a cookie exchange party. I needed seven dozen so I tripled the recipe and came out with 17 dozed, wow!!! But everyone LOVED these cookies. They are wonderful, time consuming due to the refrigeration process but really easy to put together, decorate, and bake! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
THese turned out great! I used a course sugar to roll the balls in before baking. Kind of made them look sparkly. I crave these spicy cookies and could eat a batch myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Everybody loves these cookies. They are gone the first night. I roll them in green and red sugar during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Fabulous!!! I made a couple of changes. I only had butter so made them with butter versus shortening. I also made a mistake and didn't allow the melted butter to cool. This made for VERY soft dough, so I had to add about 1/2 cup of flour. We rolled them in red and green sugar for Christmas. I big hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Forrence Worth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I am so glad I tried this recipe! Moist and chewy, with the perfect amount of spice. The dough was so tasty; a large portion of it never got to see the inside of my oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mallorytown, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Used to make these for the Xmas goodies but now they are a staple at our house. I don't bother letting cool and they turn out nice and soft. Other then that I stay true to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Excellent, crunchy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. Perfect spicyness. Not a fan of using that much shortening, so I used 1 cup shortening, 1 stick of butter and it turned out sooo good. Once the shortening/egg mixture cools, it does get pretty stiff, so using an electric mixer with a dough hook is ideal or else you'll get a nice work out. I chilled my dough for only 2 hours and it was plenty. This dough crinkles beautifully and this recipe makes a lot of cookies. I used walnut sized dough balls and yielded a little over 3 dozen. I tested my oven with a thermometer to check the temperature accuracy, and it was. 375 degrees at exactly 9 minutes made soft, chewy cookies. Will be my master recipe from now on. Rivals the bakery ones - and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
these are sooo yummy. the are very much like another recipe i had that i LOVED and now i can't find it. easy to make. nice and chewy. i put them immediately in an airtight container after they cooled so they would stay soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States