Molasses Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Excellent recipe. I've used this recipe for two years now around the holidays and it always turns out perfect. The cookies stay chewy and yummy for weeks. A crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
They bake nice and look nice but you have to really like molasses and cloves to like these cookies. My husband couldn't even finish one cookie. I tried to acquire a taste for them but no luck. I let a couple of friends taste them hoping I could give them away. Also no luck so I'm sorry to say that they are now in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I made these cookies using butter instead of shortening. I found that using my convection oven setting, I only needed to bake the cookies between 6-7 minutes or they would burn. The flavor was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wolpert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I was looking for a new cookie to make around Christmas time. I tried these, and my family loved them!! Even if they are not rolled in sugar-they taste great. We double the cloves!! Great cookie-I am on Weight Watchers - 4 points - but worth saving up points for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Thank you thank you thank you!!! for posting this recipe. For the past couple of years I have been bringing in baked goods to my work around the holidays and this particular cookie was this years winner. It is so delicious and chewy and perfect that I plan on making it every Christmas. The only problem is that I think this cookie is to blame for the 3 extra pounds I gained around the holidays. Anyway, a little time consuming but well worth it. Do Not Alter The Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by MissKendra
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I can't seem to bake these fast enough - my kids LOVE them and they pair wonderfully with a cup of tea! I like to wrap the dough in saran wrap and chill overnight - it makes the rolling much easier and cleanup is a breeze! The only change I make to the recipe is to use butter rather than shortening - we avoid partially hydrogenated oils at all costs. Having made the cookies both ways, I prefer the butter. Be sure to reduce the salt if using salted butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milo, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I wish they were prettier for a bake sale but wow are they good...especially with coffee or tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
These cookies are excellent! I've been making them for about 2 years and my friends and family ask for them again and again. The recipe makes a lot of cookies so I love to make a batch, put them in the freezer (they freeze beautifully), and take one or two out at a time to have with tea. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Freeville, New York, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I would give these cookies a million stars if I could! Followed the recipe exactly except I I got impatient and only chilled the dough for an hour or two. Came out perfect - moist, chewy, and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I just got done making these cookies. WOW! The dough is beautiful and easy to work with. The taste is fantastic. I used half butter and half shortening, and thats the only change I made. I used a scoop and all the cookies came out uniform and beautiful. I loved making these. I will be sending these cookies the a friend stationed in Iraq and I know he will love them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yo.mags

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States