Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe was actually fun to make. The dough becomes the consistency of wet sand or play-doh. We rolled our batch into peppermint sugar, which really made the other spices pop with flavor. Take the cookies out of the oven on the early side to get the best consistency. The only thing I plan on doing different next time is cutting the ground cloves in half (it was a little too much for our family's taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natureboyms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
These were amazing. They stayed so soft and moist and lasted. I couldn't stop eating them, had to hide them so there were enough for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I have never had nor made any kind of molasses cookie, so I wasn't sure what to expect. My husband likes them. I'm evidently not a huge fan of molasses cookies, but I think they're pretty good. Next time I might use a tiny bit less molasses and add a bit more spice and see if I like them more. I didn't have shortening, so I just used butter (added a bit more than the recipe calls for). I added more cloves than the recipe calls for (on accident, they spilled!), and also used Black Strap Molasses. Overall, great recipe and I'll definitely be experimenting with it a few more times to see what level of spice I like best. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Excelent flavor. Probably should double the recipe to have more cookies on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Loved the recipy! The cookies turned out great! Not to crunchy, not to soft! But the next time I makes these cookies I wont use the full amount of salt and baking soda. I noticed I can taste a hint of the baking soda and salt. I doubled the clove and only half the ginger. Im not a big fan of ginger. Otherwise I got the taste I wanted!! MMMM... Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I changed this quite a bit based on what I had on hand. I used a mix of butter & smart balance instead of shortning. Subbed 3/4 of the flour with 1/2 c of whole wheat pastry flour and 1/4 c flax meal. Used organic sugar with a tbl of black strap molasses for the brown sugar. Used ground cloves & pumpkin pie spice. Added a heaping tbl of Fiber Sure (I always add it to my baked goods) and also added some vanilla extract. They came out fantastic and my kids clamor for them. I still gave the original recipe 5 stars as it seems like it's a well deserved rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIRCE9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Very yummy! I decided to make these on a whim this evening after seeing the recipe on the home page. Love that I had all the ingredients on hand! The only problem I encountered was with the dough, it was very sticky & gooey right after mixing so I put it in the fridge for about 15min. Even then it was pretty sticky so I found the easiest way was to get a spoonful of dough and press it off the spoon with my finger into a small bowl of sugar. Once I got it coated with sugar it was much easier to roll. I baked them for exactly 8min as well, which was perfect. They were chewy & delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
MMMM... These are so yummy. I doubled the recipe and did half brown, half white sugar, one cup shortening, 1/2 cup butter. I upped the spices and decreased the baking soda. Baked for exactly 8 minutes and these were nice and chewy. BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Another five star cookie recipe to add to my families favorites. If my recipe box last through the years until I have great grandchildren, they will think I only cooked cookies! Haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
My 6 year old son's all time favorite cookie! Always get rave reviews on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States