Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
These are awesome! First, they're simple and made for a great cooking project with my at-home day care. Secondly, the taste and texture exceeded my expectations...very rich and firm, but soft. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Amazing!! Here's what worked for me: I replaced the shortening with butter, and decreased it to 1/2 cup, then added 6 Tbs of ground flax seed to compensate. They browned a bit quicker and were the perfect texture, crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. You could top with a pecan half for a perfect touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Zambarda Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sharon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Excellent recipe! Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very Good !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Yummy! I wouldn't call them sugar cookies though! They are really ginger snap cookies! I love ginger snaps! If you are looking for a sugar cookie, then I don't think you want this recipe. However, if you like ginger snaps, then I think you will enjoy these! The perfect combo of chewy & soft. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen-Nay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I love the texture, but for me the quantities of baking soda and salt reccomended made the cookie too salty. I would definitely at least cut back on the salt next time, and possibly the shortening as well to make the cookies less oily-feeling. I think I would prefer a spicier cookie, so I would probably like to try it with more spices. Overall not a bad cookie, but if I make it again I will have to alter it a lot to match my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sqwish1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Pretty tasty! However too strong on the spices. Next time I will cut back to half. Other then that the texture was just right, they were pretty easy to make, and the family ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Loda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
These cookies are absolutely wonderful!! Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
it workes super duper great evreyone loved itt???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I fell in love with a Molasses cookie at Starbucks year ago but they quit serving them. Since then I have been on a search for a Molasses cookie that would satisfy me. I finally found that cookie! I didn't melt the shortening, I just added it to the kitchen aid with the rest of the ingredients and let it stir away. The only other thing i change was I used a very course sugar that I found at a candy store and rolled the cookies in that. I made these at christmas and they tasted like an old fashioned holiday, not to mention my favorite discontinuted Starbucks cookie! This one is a keeper that I will make all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States