Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jim K
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
My wife loved them said they were better than my own favorite signature cookie. She has a way of killing me. Added white chocolate chips and baked 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nogales, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I have made this recipe a dozen times now and the only trouble I have encountered is leaving them in the oven too long. You really have to take them out early for them to be soft and they also have a tendency to burn early on the bottom. (I think this might be due to the molasses and the brown sugar and sugar rolled on the outside. I use butter instead of shortening. I just make a batch after putting the children to bed, took me less than 15 minutes to make them and put the dough in the fridge for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Rowley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These were outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Very good. Used stick margarine, for the flavor, and I let it soften, then creamed margarine & sugar. Next time I'll up the ginger. Baked 7 minutes on ungreased cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Yummy, but I must've done something incorrectly as the cookie was either too crumbly and soft, or it was rock hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Jane Winstead

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Very simple to make and were so VERY good..or as my daughter likes to says"they were off the hook"!! I like them so much I think I'll bring them to our next family holiday get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Bretzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I switched out the shortening with softened butter and switched clove with vanilla extract. We didn't have the other ingredients on hand. They came out PERFECT! Like in other molasses cookie recipes on this site, there is no reason to chill the cookie dough unless you want to waste time; when you use the butter at a softened state, the dough is a perfect consistency. It definitely saves you a lot of time and the cooking time is the exact same. Mine come out perfect at 9 minutes on 375 degrees. I let them cool on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waynesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
They were alright. The flavor was nice and spicy because I added extra. When I read to put in 2tsp of baking soda I knew it sounded weird. My cookies came out flat. I have never ever had a flat cookie before. I'll try these again next time only 1tsp baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
We just made this recipe today and these cookies we SO good. They were a hit with both of my children. We will definitely make these again. I will say I left out the cloves and just put a pinch of ginger and cinnamon. They were PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States