Molasses Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Easy to make. The combination of these great spices gives the muffins a unique taste compared to the typical muffin recipe. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabby Cantero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made these into mini muffins, and they went fast! I used currants instead of raisins to keep with the mini idea. I used baking powder instead of baking soda due to personal preference, and it worked out great. The spices and wholesome ingredients have given me another recipe to make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
They are decent muffins. I would probably make them again. I would add a half cup of brown sugar or at least double the molassas and raisins. Instead of the yogurt, I used half sour cream and half evap milk. Also, I added 2t. vital gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These muffins were fantastic! I was looking for something with great flavor without all the sugar. I used grape nuts cereal since I didn't have any wheat germ and it worked just fine. When I make them again, I will probably add some chopped walnuts or pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirksville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Love these healthy muffins!! I left out the egg, and used a single serving of applesauce, because my son is allergic to eggs. I cut down the raisins to 1/2 cup and added 3/4 cup brown sugar. STUPENDOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
For me, these turned out really.......wet. I mean, they were moist, but it wasn't as firm as most muffin recipes I make. They kind of fell apart, really. I followed the recipe closely and made no changes other than adding a teaspoon of vanilla and a teaspoon of baking powder. There might be a little too much molasses and I'd cut back on the yogurt next time. I even "soaked" the wheat germ and oats in the wet ingredients before folding in the dry. Good starting point for me to play with and try again. I think it has potential. NOTE: For me, this made more than twelve servings. I got 12 regular sized muffins and 12 mini muffins. Not a huge deal but when the recipe wasn't as successful, it's a huge bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Very moist and tasty for such a healthy muffin! I didn't have any plain yogurt so I used vanilla instead. For my own taste I would add a bit of brown sugar (1/4-1/2 cup). . . but I loved that there was no sugar since I made them mainly for my toddler who LOVED them as the recipe stated. Definitely a keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These are delicious! I've been on a bit of a "healthy muffin" kick lately (they're great for a quick breakfast, but I'd rather not be eating glorified cake every day), and these are among my favourites so far. The only changes I made were to replace the butter with applesauce, use 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate chunks (SO GOOD), and because the batter tasted somewhat bitter to me when it was all mixed up, I added 1/4 cup honey and 1/4 cup brown sugar, based on suggestions from other reviewers. I will absolutely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Really loved these. Made these into mini muffins. I made half the batch as written and the other half I added a few tsps of brown sugar. Both batches were nice and were equally good. My kiddies have devoured most of them already. A good no added sugar snack. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States