Molasses Mistake Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My family did not care for the favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
My main complaint? too much salt. I think 1/2 tsp would serve better... I also didn't find it sweet enough. It could use either more molasses or some sugar. The texture was nice though and it was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I added about 1/4 cup of honey and 1/2 tsp of baking soda. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
RE: the other reviewers who say this is missing something, or who don't like the "whang" of molasses--add 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda. When you cook with molasses you always need a bit of baking soda to bring out the flavor and tame the "edge". Good recipe if you like "Yankee" cornbead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Probably won't be making this one again, it I do it'll be greatly modified. I liked the different flavor from the molasses but it was missing something else in taste. I didn't like the texture at all it was very spongy and nothing like I expect cornbread to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Having read prior reviews, I used maple syrup instead of molasses, and I also added corn to the batter. This was not the best cornbread I've ever had, but it was good for a low-fat recipe. I'll probably make it again because it's healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
did not like the bitter taste. i will keep looking for a better one than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I loved it although I added jalepenos and a bit of oil. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
After reading the other reviews, I wasn't sure I wanted to make this. Since someone mentioned that the molasses made this taste nasty, I decided to substitute it with corn syrup. Good call! I ended up adding about 3 tablespoons of that, and then 3-4 tablespoons regular sugar. This was the best cornbread I've ever had. =) Even my sister, who formerly hated cornbread, enjoyed it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I'm sorry, but this was just plain tooooo bitter! And I even added a little sugar to the batter. On the bright side I liked the texture. Maybe making it without the molasses wouldn't be too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States