Molasses Mistake Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My family did not care for the favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
My main complaint? too much salt. I think 1/2 tsp would serve better... I also didn't find it sweet enough. It could use either more molasses or some sugar. The texture was nice though and it was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I added about 1/4 cup of honey and 1/2 tsp of baking soda. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
RE: the other reviewers who say this is missing something, or who don't like the "whang" of molasses--add 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda. When you cook with molasses you always need a bit of baking soda to bring out the flavor and tame the "edge". Good recipe if you like "Yankee" cornbead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Probably won't be making this one again, it I do it'll be greatly modified. I liked the different flavor from the molasses but it was missing something else in taste. I didn't like the texture at all it was very spongy and nothing like I expect cornbread to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Having read prior reviews, I used maple syrup instead of molasses, and I also added corn to the batter. This was not the best cornbread I've ever had, but it was good for a low-fat recipe. I'll probably make it again because it's healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
did not like the bitter taste. i will keep looking for a better one than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I loved it although I added jalepenos and a bit of oil. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
After reading the other reviews, I wasn't sure I wanted to make this. Since someone mentioned that the molasses made this taste nasty, I decided to substitute it with corn syrup. Good call! I ended up adding about 3 tablespoons of that, and then 3-4 tablespoons regular sugar. This was the best cornbread I've ever had. =) Even my sister, who formerly hated cornbread, enjoyed it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I'm sorry, but this was just plain tooooo bitter! And I even added a little sugar to the batter. On the bright side I liked the texture. Maybe making it without the molasses wouldn't be too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States