Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I've never tasted a molasses cookie but thought it'd be a nice Christmas cookie to try out and take for family Christmas. Oh my. These are fantastic. I made the brown sugar version. And instead of adding the spices separately, I just used 3 (or four) teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice. So glad I decided to give these a try. I will be making these for Christmases to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Loved the taste but these cookies were flat and not very pretty. I'm going to look for a similar recipe that is more cake-like. Also, to dress these up for Christmas, I'm going to dip them in white chocolate so they're half brown, half white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momofmook
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
These were fabulous!! However, I did decrease the amount of baking soda based on reviews. The only other modification when I make them in the future (and I will) would be to increase the spices. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
These cookies are fantastic. This recipe was suggested by a friend of mine and I can't thank her enough for it! These are always requested whenever I get in the mood to bake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Button

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Awesome! Followed otherd advice and baked at 7 minutes and added more spices. I also used butter and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley Patricia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I learned something valuable today. I keep looking for different molasses/gingersnap cookie recipes and I need to stop doing that. I made this with the revisions that several people recommended. I wish I had added the 2nd t. of soda. Also, this cookie does not have enough flour. Most recipes like this have 2 1/4 cups of flour. Mine were flat. They were unappealing. The last few cookies I decided to add a big T of flour and mixed it in. The last 7 cookies looked normal; puffy and nice looking. The flavor was fine but if I made these again I would add 1/4 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cherrette MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Uhmanda
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
They taste like they are missing something or maybe there's too much baking soda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Uhmanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grvqn
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Easy to make and good! I didn't really chill the dough for an hour. I also flattened out the cookies. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grvqn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I loved this recipe. The only change I made was to use butter since that was all I had. The cookies are very soft and chewy with tons of flavour. I've seen suggestions of doubling the spices, I'm not sure I would try, they have a good flavour as is, I'd be worried it would be too strong. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I was disappointed at how these turned out, I used butter and all I taste is butter. You guys who used butter instead of margarine, do you notice an unpleasant butter overload aftertaste that overpowers the molasses? I think next time I make these I'll use only a stick of butter and a little more molasses, I prefer darker cookies, and maybe substitute some brown sugar for some of the white sugar, like some of the other commenters suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Melted Snowman Cookies

Turn marshmallows and sugar cookies into amazing melted snowmen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States