Molasses Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I have found this type of cookie is one that folks either love or hate. My grandmother, who was German, made these for my dad. She lived in Michigan and would always ship them to us in Georgia every Chrismas. When I was about 12, she taught me how to make them and gave me her recipe. She died about ten years ago and since then, I've been the one to make these cookies. Today, Christmas Eve, 2002, I went to bake the cookies for my Dad, and found the recipe had been torn out of my book and is gone. It was such a relief to find this recipe here. This is her exact recipe, except she didn't use nutmeg. This recipe is a wonderful recipe and the moister the batter, the better the cookie. Also, you CANNOT over-cook this cookie. If you do, you lose the entire flavor. So, bake for exactly the amount of time alloted, or a little less. Thanks so much! Merry Christmas from Jill in Atlanta, GA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillyJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
For a long time I have been looking for a recipe for a soft molasses cookie that wasn't too sweet. This was perfect! They were easy to make, have a great soft texture and the flavour is even better after a day or two. Next time I might try adding 1/4 cup more molasses to make them even richer. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I'm sorry to say we didn't really enjoy these cookies. The flavour was pretty bland and the texture was dry, even though we only cooked them for the recommended amount of time. I think the large amount of flour in the recipe may have contributed to this. They might taste better as frosted molasses cookies. More traditional drop molasses cookies with sugar on top taste better and have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I am wheat intolerant, so I substituted wheat flour for spelt.......I think I needed to reduce the splet flour a little more it was a tad dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
The recipe was pretty bland and I really would not make them again. Also, the cookie dough was too sticky to roll out so I dropped them by the spoonful in a bowl of sugar to coat and then baked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DarcieA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
These were delicious! I made the recipe exactly as written. They remind me of a soft gingersnap. Per another reviewer, I made an "optional" cream cheese frosting to serve with them for added flavor, but most people said they liked them every bit as well without the frosting. Thanks for the recipe Rini- we really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Very good cookies! I didn't have buttermilk or shortening, so I put my own little spin on it. I used cold butter in place of the shortening and used regular whole milk in place of the buttermilk. I then chilled my cookie batter for 5 to 10 mins to make sure the butter was nice and chilled. I also didnt have ground cloves so I just used more nutmeg (I did for 36 servings so it called for 1/4 teaspoon each and I used a 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg) I also added a pinch of salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Came out really nice and very well liked. We did add about 1/4C dark brown sugar and 1/4C honey to the dough, and used half butter/half shortening. Instead of cutting, just rolled the chilled dough into balls, coated in white sugar, then flattened with a glass to 1/8". Took about 11 1/2min to bake up and worked better for us to cool on the cookie sheets about 10 minutes before removing to a baking rack. Chewy, soft, lots of flavor, not 'cakey' at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States