Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My Grandmother & I made these cookies yesterday and instantly fell in love with this soft, full-flavored cookie! We doubled the batch with the exception of the baking soda as others recommended. The only changes we made was to substitute unsalted butter for the shortening and we used 1/2 dark, full-flavor molasses and 1/2 black strap molasses (only because we didn't have enough of either kind to use just one). We rolled them into balls but did not flatten with a glass as others recommended and they cracked beautifully. Believe me when I tell you that these cookies looked like they came from a bakery and the flavor is what Archway's molasses cookies used to taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Kness-Duttry
Living In: Du Bois, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
i tried these out and was so excited because someone said they were really close to the ones you get from Starbucks but I'm no sure what happened because they deflated a lot and I didn't change the b.soda quantity at all. Anyone have any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This recipe worked perfectly as written and made delicious moist cookies. I tried a batch with half the salt and found that they didn't all rise enough and some seemed to deflate but even then they were very tasty. I will use the original amount of salt from now on. You can taste the salt but I'd say it compliments the other flavors well. Rolling the dough into firmly packed small balls (about 1" diameter) makes small round cookies just like the picture. I baked them for 10 minutes excatly and they were perfectly cooked. I tried 9 minutes and some were under-cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel
Home Town: Bridge City, Texas, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
These cookies were really good. I used dark molasses instead of light, because I like a richer flavor, and they turned out great. The recipe says that it yields 18 cookies, but I rolled them into about 1" balls (which made very normal-sized cookies) and I ended up with 2 dozen. Rolled them before baking in raw sugar mixed with red & green colored sugar (for the holidays) and they turned out beautiful, with all the right crinkles. Baked for exactly 10 min. and they were nice and chewy. After resting for a day, I think they taste even better the next day. Also, I am a big believer that butter generally tastes better than shortening in cookies, but I tried the shortening, and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Mmm mmm! I just made these cookies and they are so moist and chewy! I cut the salt in half like others said to do. Even my teenage daughter went crazy for these and she was turning her nose up at them while I was making them. The whole house smells like gingerbread. Excellent recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Kory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe is written,,,,too salty for me. I am going to give the recipe another try with less salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Very easy. Excellent taste. Took a little longer to bake than time given. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I found these cookies too sweet and I dont really care with molasses flavour. It's a bit too strong for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I substituted salted butter for the shortening, and used dark molasses instead of the light. I eliminated the salt entirely, as the butter had plenty. They are a wonderful ginger bread-like cookie.Great with hot tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jordan, New York, USA
Living In: Marblehead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
These were great!! I usually don't like spicey type cookies, but these were excellent and had hubby and kids begging for more! I didn't chill the dough, it was easy to handle, and they turned out fine. Using butter flavored shortening adds flavour. I disagree with the reviewers that complained the cookies were too salty, for us the salt complimented the cookie's sweetness and spices. A keeper recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States