Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I've tried several molasses sugar cookie recipes from this site, and other places, and this is exactly the one I was looking for. They stay soft and don't spread out too much. My only complaint...they don't last long enough in my house and I always have to make more! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I love these cookies! Made them twice over Christmastime and they were very consistent. Nice and soft and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Utterly delicious! Fast and easy. I didn't have as much molasses as I thought I did - only a quarter cup - and had to add a bit more brown sugar, and they still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
excellent, made these for work and people asked for the recipe. The yield is not correct - I doubled the recipe and got over 120 cookies... they came out perfectly, but jeez, I was making cookies forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen C
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe I've used many many times now. I use salted butter instead of shortening and 1/2 the salt (1/2 tsp). So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My Grandmother & I made these cookies yesterday and instantly fell in love with this soft, full-flavored cookie! We doubled the batch with the exception of the baking soda as others recommended. The only changes we made was to substitute unsalted butter for the shortening and we used 1/2 dark, full-flavor molasses and 1/2 black strap molasses (only because we didn't have enough of either kind to use just one). We rolled them into balls but did not flatten with a glass as others recommended and they cracked beautifully. Believe me when I tell you that these cookies looked like they came from a bakery and the flavor is what Archway's molasses cookies used to taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Du Bois, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
i tried these out and was so excited because someone said they were really close to the ones you get from Starbucks but I'm no sure what happened because they deflated a lot and I didn't change the b.soda quantity at all. Anyone have any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This recipe worked perfectly as written and made delicious moist cookies. I tried a batch with half the salt and found that they didn't all rise enough and some seemed to deflate but even then they were very tasty. I will use the original amount of salt from now on. You can taste the salt but I'd say it compliments the other flavors well. Rolling the dough into firmly packed small balls (about 1" diameter) makes small round cookies just like the picture. I baked them for 10 minutes excatly and they were perfectly cooked. I tried 9 minutes and some were under-cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel
Home Town: Bridge City, Texas, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
These cookies were really good. I used dark molasses instead of light, because I like a richer flavor, and they turned out great. The recipe says that it yields 18 cookies, but I rolled them into about 1" balls (which made very normal-sized cookies) and I ended up with 2 dozen. Rolled them before baking in raw sugar mixed with red & green colored sugar (for the holidays) and they turned out beautiful, with all the right crinkles. Baked for exactly 10 min. and they were nice and chewy. After resting for a day, I think they taste even better the next day. Also, I am a big believer that butter generally tastes better than shortening in cookies, but I tried the shortening, and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Mmm mmm! I just made these cookies and they are so moist and chewy! I cut the salt in half like others said to do. Even my teenage daughter went crazy for these and she was turning her nose up at them while I was making them. The whole house smells like gingerbread. Excellent recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennKory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States