Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These are definitely pretty good... but something is off, and I can't figure out what. I used dark ("robust") molasses and light brown sugar, since that was what I had... and they almost taste... too molasses-y? So, in retrospect, I probably should have used light molasses, and perhaps increased the cinnamon, for a more mainstream flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I am not a fan of molasses so I didn't really care for these. I will give them 5 stars based on the reaction I got from the friends and family I gave them to. I followed the recipe exactly with the except I reduced the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I added the 2 eggs and reduced the salt, used butter instead of shortening, doubled the recipe and heaped my spices and these cookies were AHHH-MAZING! Our oven bakes/cooks slightly hotter so I reduced the heat to 325 and cooked for 14 min and they are perfectly cracked and puffy and chewy at the same time!!! 5 stars all around. I may even double the spices next time- I like mine a little more spicy!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki2197

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These cookies were really good. I like how spicy they were. I rolled my first batch in sugar but because I have crappy pans the sugar burned a little bit. I didn't roll the other batches in sugar and they seemed to come out a little better. I recommend Silpat matt or parchment paper. But they are very tasty indeed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These are great cookies. Following all the suggestions: I used butter (3/4 c), added an egg, and halved the salt. The aftertaste Pchotrani is talking about is the cloves. I tasted it too. Maybe next time I'll try allspice or nutmeg (nutmeg doesn't smell right in combination with the cinnamon and ginger but I'll see what I get). I checked other molasses cookies and the spice ranged from these three, Cin. Gin. and Nut, Cin. Gin. and All, and even Cin. Gin. Cream of Tartar... We'll see... I baked them 9 1/2 minutes and they are perfect! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I subbed butter for the shortening and they worked fine. Taste was very good for a cookie that doesn't include chocolate. Very easy to make; I stuck the dough in the freezer for about 5 minutes rather than 1-2h in the fridge & it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
great flavor. used butter instead of shortening. they came out a little flat when I made them bite size. Tried again another day and used the ice cream scoop. They were perfect! Big and crackled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
great cookies!!!!! I also halved the salt like someone else suggested and used 1/2C butter instead of 3/4C shortening. and I used 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Deeeee-licious! I used butter instead of shortening, two eggs and a half t of salt. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ming
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
These were delicious! We followed the recipe precisely and are delighted with the results. Will make many more of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States