Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I have made these about three times now and the recipe is simple, easy, and turns out great every time! I love the flavor. They are also a very pretty cookie with the sugar dusting. They keep moist and store well for a good, long time. They also freeze decently. I added a dash of nutmeg for extra Autumn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Have made this recipe the past 3-4 years as part of my Christmas baking and absolutely love it! It has just the right amount of spice. The only thing that I do differently is roll the dough in raw sugar instead of white...gives a much better tasting crust and compliments the molasses really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Best Molasses cookies ever! Left dough in refrigerator for two days... they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This was a wonderful quick treat for my three grandsons! My son and husband loved them too. I'm glad I read the reviews regarding the salt; I cut it in half too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattiann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Easy and yummy! I recommend air bake cookie sheets or placing them near the top of the oven when baking. A hair less salt and the recipe is perfect! We doubled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
These were the perfect molasses cookie for my hubby and I. I made a few changes though that another reviewer suggested: I used 2 eggs and did not bother to roll the dough balls in sugar. I would recommend rolling the dough into balls first before chilling, because when you do, the dough gets warm and sticky (probably because I used an extra egg).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
My all time favorite Molasses cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hkirstenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was an easy, simple recipe to follow and do. I cooked these cookies for my husband and father, who both love molasses cookies. They are especially delicious when they first come out of the oven and are warm. Will definitely make these again! The dough also freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Just made these. Pretty good. I was looking for a cookie that tastes like Tim Horton's Ginger Molasses cookies. This came pretty close. I must say DO NOT OVERBAKE. Your cookies will turn hard very quickly if left for even a minute too long. I cooked them at 325 for 9 min on top oven wrack. They had the perfect amounts of spices. Texture was perfect. Not only did they taste good but they look perfect too. Perfectly round when done, nice colour. And yes, soft and chewy in the middle. I stored them in a container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good, soft molasses cookies when baked for 8 minutes in my oven. I did add more ginger and 1/2 teaspoon allspice. The dough was VERY soft and these really didn't puff up much at all, though they did wind up with the cracks somehow. Next time, I think I'll add an extra egg and a bit more flour. UPDATE: I added the extra egg and just 1/4 cup more flour. Wound up with rounded cookies, softer and more cake-like than chewy. My husband likes 'em. I also used 1-1/2 T ginger and added 1/2 t allspice to the mix, and used blackstrap molasses. They didn't come out very sweet at all, but a nice munch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States