Molasses Carob Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very good flavor but too crumbly. They didn't seem dry but just wouldn't stay together. The only thing I changed was the carob chips. I used 1/2 cup choc chips and 1/2 cup dried cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I've made these but with carob chips instead of chocolate because I'm allergic to chocolate. But I'm wondering if it would be possible to make these with something other than wheat flour. Someone wants me to make them but they are allergic to wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Yummy!! I made these all vegan by substituting veggie oil for the butter, and arrow root for the egg. I also used pre-made almond butter and all honey- no sugar. Soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chalkalot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Great recipe, used a bit of natural peanut butter instead of the almonds, only used 1/2 butter and now oil. Also used rice flour and oat flour instead of wheat flour. Didn't use sugar just some agave nectar (1/4 cup.) They turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
These are really great! pre-made cashew butter worked really well. These are not sweet, the way we like it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Reviewed on Wednesday, May 20, 2009 by iLoveMaitreya I've made these cookies a couple of times now, and really appreciate the tip for trying different nuts for the nut-butter portion. I tried using sucanat with this recipe instead of turbinado, and poured in a little honey for good measure. I thought it was interesting all the comments about using honey. If you're vegan, stick with the sucanat or turbinado. And 1Tb ground flax with 3Tb water will replace 1 egg. I think if you're not used to the unsweetened carob and over compensate with the honey it really won't be good. I couldn't rate this less then 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I used blackstrap molasses and it made a really nice molasses flavor - DH thought it overpowered the carob though. I didn't have coconut, so made without, and I used honey instead of sugar. Next time I think I'll add some vanilla, because every drop cookie should have it, and use all honey instead of sugar and molasses. I also used an estra egg, since we like more cakey cookies. 7 minutes was perfect bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I really didn't like these. I love carob and molasses but these cookies did not live up to my expectation. My boyfriend (who eats anything) didn't like them at all, so I know that it wasn't just me. I followed the recipe exactly except I substituted honey for the sugar. Maybe that was the problem? They were kinda bitter at the same time being sickly sweet. I also thought the 1/2 cup of butter overrides any potential health benefit. I rarely rate anything bad, but I did not care for these. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
My whole family loved these. The only thing I did was sweeten it more to our taste (unforturnately, I did not keep track of this). My husband commented that they tasted similar to brownies. Next time I will add half a cup of chopped nuts when I add the carob chips. Great healthy cookies! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I've made this a couple of times and also tried using all honey, 3 packets of stevia, and walnuts instead of almonds. Prefer 1-1/2 cups of carob chips. This is a great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States