Molasses Brined Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jennifermo
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I did this two ways -- one with a short brine (because I couldn't wait another day) and one with an overnight brine. Definitely worth the wait! The chops were juicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifermo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I LOVED this! i grew up on molasses so was obvious i would like this, but being in a brine it does become quite salty, so try to pair with a sweet salad, or sweet potato, if salads scared you! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Chef John, Thank you thank you thank you! These are truly the best pork chops I have ever grilled and I have grilled quite a few. They are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobsKitchen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Sylvester, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These are great! I only had about 2.5lbs of chops so I cut the salt down to 1/4 cup and only used about 4 cups of cold water. We grilled these and they were pefect! Lots of great flavor! I also made a Carolina style BBQ sauce on the side which added just the right amount of mustard/vinegar base to complement the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
These were amazing! I had center cut, boneless chops from the supermarket (maybe 1" thick) that I brined for 6 hours. I grilled for a few minutes on each side until they reached 145. My kids don't like barbecue sauce, so I did half plain & the other half I basted with Sticky Fingers Carolina Classic barbecue sauce. Both turned out fabulous.! Just watch your temperature it would be a shame to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Beautiful color but very little added in the way of flavor or juiciness. There was absolutely NO clove flavor whatsoever. I will try again and maybe brush the chops with a molasses and ground clove mixture. These also cry out for pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This now my new Pork Chop go to Receipe. Absoultly the best and so moist. Used this chef's Carolia Style BBQ sauce at end of cookng time. Get a digital timer to not over cook. served with mixed greens and a mashed Caulifllower RX from this site (sour cream and butter)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Loved these chops! I cut the salt to 1/4c (would use 1/8c next time), but otherwise followed recipe. Deeelicious! So moist, juicy & tender. Cut a bnls pork loin into 1" chops & they came out perfect. Try this with his Carolina BBQ sauce - excellent! Thank you Chef John - I love your videos & all the recipes I've made so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
i normally do not make pork chops as they get too dry on the grill but these stayed juicy. :) really nice with the recommended carolina mustard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: Würzburg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Good and tender. Not something that I would crave often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States