Molasses Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
this is a flexible recipe and i added chopped up canned peaches, along with the syrup---lots of sliced almonds--and chocolate chips--i like to use stuff up i guess! anyhow it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I loved the flavor of these muffins but abhorred the texture. I had to "choke them down" (so-to-speak). Anyone have any ideas on improving the texture? Maybe by adding a different grain? I like muffins that have crispy tops and are more cake-like in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a very simple and easy recipe to whip up. I've found these muffins really helpful in my post Christmas weightloss...they are very filling. I thought I had Bran Flakes but I only had the origincal All Bran (the stick) kind and it worked just as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
My mom makes a very similar bran muffin, using All-Bran cereal and blackstrap molasses. She replaces the raisins (or adds to) with sultanas, and also adds walnuts. I think she may also add a dash or two of nutmeg, or allspice. I imagine these would be good replacing some, or all, of the oil with butternut squash or pumpkin puree. Nice autumnal touch anyway. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Lovely, earthy flavor to these muffins, due to the molasses. This recipe is less sweet than most, because there is no sweetening other than the molasses. For those who don't appreciate a strong molasses flavor, consider using half dark corn syrup or honey to replace half of the molasses called for. But leave in at least half for the subtle flavor contribution and deep color. If you like a sweeter muffin, add 2 Tb sugar, either brown or white. For those who had trouble with a runny batter, allow the bran to soak in the milk for 10 minutes before mixing. I used sour milk and cut the soda back to 1 tsp, which is sufficient for a recipe of this size. 1-1/2 tsp, particularly if you use fresh milk (as opposed to buttermilk or sour milk) could be contributing to the off-flavor some have reported. Added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, because I just like it in my muffins. I brushed the tops with a drop of honey as they came out of the oven, adding a slight punch of sweetness and a beautiful sheen. Already ate one fresh from the oven, and it was stellar! Be aware that these do not rise very much. What you see when you spoon the batter into the muffin tins is pretty much what you get coming out of the oven. So don't be afraid to fill nearly to the top. It made 12 very full muffins. All in all, an excellent recipe! Edited 10/14/08 to add that these are excellent keepers. Four days after baking, they are still remarkably moist, almost as good as freshly baked. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
These were yummy. I added 1/2 t cinnamon and vanilla. Also, to make them healthier, I used whole wheat flour, added 1/4 cup wheat germ, and instead of raisins, 1 cup blueberries, and topped then with oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
these are great! after making them one evening, my husband and i each brought one to work. he sent me a text message saying "you are the bran muffin champ!" i did omit raisins b/c hubby doesn't like them. however, next time i will add them for my portion. :) i actually made 6 large muffins with this recipe. makes a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is a hit in my house - they don't last long once they are out of the oven.. Everyone eats them and no one realizes how healthy they are!! I've substituted dried cranberries for the raisins a few times, and they are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alta
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
My grandmother made the best bran muffins in the world. I have been looking for a recipe like hers and this is it. I used whole wheat flour and added 1/2 cup of wheat germ to make them fiber healthy. I also add more molasses and raisins, and then added vanilla and cinnamon like grammy did. This lends to a tastier, heartier, healthier muffin. These are wonderful warm spread with real melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
For people with anemia, this is a great recipe. Blackstrap molasses is the only molasses that is high in iron. I did change it up the 2nd time around to create a low fat muffin. I used sugar free instant flavored oatmeal instead of the bran, no additional sugar needed, but if you wanted to you could sub it for splenda. And instead of using 2 tbl spoons of oil, I used 1 tbl sp oil, and 3 tbl spoons of applesauce. The muffins tastes better hot. And each muffin comes out to 3 grams of fat and 92 calories. 2 muffins a day for a week, brings your iron back up and your energy as well. And it also helps with those who have IBS,like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States