Molasses Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I just made these. They are the best bran muffins I have ever made. I used half honey & half molasses. Also instead of raisins I used dried pineapple & dried bananas. I am a cookl in a retirement home & I am going to serve these often. Try them. You will love them. What a great way to get your fiber & actually enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These were tasty and were not dry, but did not have a nice "muffin" texture either. They tasted like your typical lowfat muffin/cake made with little or no oil, a little gummy. If you don't mind that, this is a great recipe. Just don't expect to fool anyone who doesn't like the lowfat stuff. I had to eat the entire batch myself, but I would probably still make again for a healthy breakfast/snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Dense, flavorful muffins that aren't too sweet. I made the following additions to the recipe: substituted Total multi-grain cereal flakes for bran flakes. Used 1/2 cup all-purpose flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. Added 1 teaspoon each of vanilla, powdered ginger, powdered allspice, and cinnamon. Tastes just like a molasses cookie! Also recommend stirring the raisins into the wet ingredients first and letting them sit for a couple of minutes. They "plump up" nicely. End product is tasty and healthful and this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I made this recipe. Changes: 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda (according to other reviewers), changed milk to buttermilk, changed molasses to half molasses and half honey for a lighter flavor. I also changed the raisins to chopped dates and added a cup of chopped pecans. I used generic bran flakes cereal and crushed them in a ziploc baggie, then let the batter rest a few minutes to soggy up the cereal. These were so fabulous, I can't tell you. Delicious with peanut butter on them. With a small drizzle of honey on the split halves, they were reminiscent of baklava, chewy with nuts and good honey flavor. Weird but true. I baked them in Pam sprayed Pyrex custard cups and got 10 big muffins. They slid right out with a lovely color and an almost glazed crust due to the molasses and honey content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gillette
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
DO NOT USE PAPER MUFFIN CUPS WHEN BAKING THESE!!! I just made 22 muffins wrapped in cups and they're almost impossible to remove!! Other than that, the muffins themselves taste pretty good. A little bland - add honey or sugar for sure if you aren't into less intense flavours. Or use a sweet jam when eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
It's an ok bran muffin, wasn't that tasty and I like health nut food. A little too much salt and baking soda taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
As far as Bran muffins go this one is tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myhoneybear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
These are really good! I have quite a sweet tooth, and although these muffins aren't particularly sweet, I didn't find them to need any extra sweetener. The only change that I made was that I used 1tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda instead of 1.5 tsp baking soda. With that little change, this recipe is awesome. I will definitely make these muffins again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Really good. If you use paper liners, make sure you let them cool completely or they will stick. I used applesauce in place of the oil. I added frozen blueberries, but will leave them plain and add some cinnamon next time. I brushed the tops with honey - as another reviewer suggested. These are super moist. Will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe!! I use half molasses and half agave syrup, and I used soy milk instead of milk. Came out great. I added crushed drained pineapple - my family loved them!!! Thank you so much for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anza, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States