Molasses Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These were very good. I did add 2 Tbs sugar. They had a strange but attractive shiny top. Another review said that the muffins don't rise much, so you can fill the muffin cups up. I may have taken that advice to literally, as my muffins overflowed the pan and left a mess. I would say leave at least 1/2 inch for growing. Also, I baked some with paper liners, and some without. The muffins without liners had a better shape and came out of the pan really easily. I misted the pan with Pam for Baking. Nice recipe, I will make again, and the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Pretty good! I used whole wheat flour and substituted apple sauce for the oil just for a little extra healthiness. Also I didn't have raisins on hand, so I used an equal amount of cinnamon chips instead which was a nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I added frozen blueberries to the muffin mix and about 1/3 cup flour. The molasses hangs on the palate. Could be a tid-bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Loved these muffins and so did the kids. Moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I love these! I modified the recipe for my taste, and substituted whole wheat flour. I also used all bran cereal or bran buds (versus the bran flakes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These are great! I can barely taste the molasses (which is good for me since I don't care for it). I used wheat bran instead of bran flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
These cooked really weirdly...all of the molasses sunk to the bottom of each tin. I think the batter was too thin: needed more flour and less milk! However, they had a pleasant taste after an addition of brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Bowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
These were great but i modified them to add more fiber and fruit into them and doubled the batch by my additions, i kept the same ammount of molasses, used half fancy and half black strap, i added a cup of bran along witht he 2 cups of bran cereal but i used rasin bran flakes, i added 2 cups of flour, i grated 1 large apple and 1 zucchini added, 1/2 cup of mixed frozen berries also, i mixed the wet ingriedients together then added the bran, then bran cereal, grated apple and zuccini, added the flout and baking soda, i also added 1 tsp of baking powder and1/2 cup of brown sugar, these were perfect, fruity, very hearty, moist and so perfect for my family, i give one a day to my daughter as a snack she adores them, i also would grate a carrot next time just because ! ia m sure these were great ont heir own but i just beefed them up !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sierra S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
The muffins did bake up nicely and have a nice flavor. Could have been slightly sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faroe47

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Delicious bran muffin recipe! This a a great way to use up the last of the All-Bran cereal and sneak something healthy into my husband's diet at the same time. I used 1/4 cup of molasses, 2 Tbsp. of dark brown sugar and 2 Tbsp. of honey. I also added 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 1 Tbsp. of vanilla. I let the wet ingredients soak into the bran cereal along with the raisins for about 10 minutes before adding the dry ingredients and the batter wasn't runny at all. This made 12 muffins that rose up nicely, were very moist and had just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States