Molasses Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Turned out very well, did use 1/2 honey and 1/2 blackstrap molasses. Didn't have any milk so used water and powdered milk to make one cup and added yogurt for the remaining milk. Used " Great Grains" cereal as I didn't have any Bran Flakes. The recipe made 12 regular muffins and 11 mini . Definitely a recipe you can play around with. Something I enjoy doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Very moist. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Thank you SO MUCH for this recipe, Mindy. I've been searching for something similar to the bran muffins Mom made way back when and this one is oh-so-close! Mom's Alzheimer's has caused her to forget both the recipe and where she had put her recipe box. I read all the reviews and added a bit of brown sugar. Should not have done that. Next time I'll use dark molasses and omit the brown sugar. Thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
These were great. I substituted unsweetened almond milk for regular milk, applesauce for the oil and did the 1 tsp soda 1/2 tsp powder as most people recommended and they came out just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
These were tasty and got good reviews from my roommates. They came together pretty easily, and no muffin liners were necessary (after spraying the tin with cooking spray). When I make them again, I'll try replacing one of the tablespoons of oil with applesauce, and use the extra calories to sprinkle some brown sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
pretty tasteless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Love the rich molasses flavour! Used almond milk plus 1 Tbsp vinegar instead of buttermilk, added 2 Tbsp brown sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Like some others, I found the batter quite runny. I did let the bran cereal sit for a few minutes and then mixed in the dry ingredients. With it so runny, I added about 2 Tbsp ground flax seed and ~1/3 cup natural wheat bran. Still was quite runny but it baked up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
These made good, filling muffins full of fiber for my breakfasts this week-great recipe. I may try substituting applesauce for the oil, as one reviewer said, but they're great the way they are. Love that slight molasses flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
They just came out of the oven, and they are delicious. If you are a fan of bran muffins like the ones you get from a coffee shop, then this is the recipe you're looking for. I added 2 T of brown sugar and 1/4 cup honey. I also let the flakes and raisins soak in the liquid for 10 minutes before adding the flour mixture. Brushed the tops with honey. I added more raisins too. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These were a mess. Batter was very runny, didn't rise, ran all over the top of the muffin pan. I checked the ingredients and I made them correctly. My soda was new, so it wasn't that. I just threw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States